Skip to content

Archive Collections at HHC: Women

Guide to material held at Hull History Centre arranged by research theme, record creator and document type, with copies of published source guides.

On this page:

“Above all, be the heroine of your life, not the victim”

Nora Ephron 

Women

Research Themes Supported

Hull History Centre holds large numbers of collections on subjects related to women. Such collections can aid research into many areas including:

  • Abortion
  • Equal Pay and Employment
  • Women’s Literacy and Education
  • Female Household Management
  • Female Land Ownership and Marriage
  • Illegitimacy
  • Female Criminality
  • Female Activism
  • Women’s Leisure
  • Women as Political Activists

Typical Record Formats

Women's records commonly include minutes, reports, court records, photographs, publications, campaign literature, correspondence, diaries, deeds, marriage settlements, recipe and household books.

Key collections

The following collections have significant research potential in the area of women:

  • Papers of Winifred Holtby (L WH)
  • Cooperative Women's Guild Records (U DCW)
  • Papers of Hester Henrietta Empson (U DEN)
  • Records of Anne Kerr MP (U DMK)

Further collections

The following PDF contains a list of HHC collections that may be useful to researchers interested in various aspects of women.

Additional supporting material

The following material may also be useful when researching this area:

  • Newspapers, available on microfilm or via the British Newspaper Archive Online – reporting on contentious topics and events allows exploration of the contextual arguments around a particular issue.