Skip to content

Archive Collections at HHC: Culture & Leisure

Guide to material held at Hull History Centre arranged by research theme, record creator and document type, with copies of published source guides.

On this page:

“Reading is my favourite occupation, when I have leisure for it and books to read”

Anne Bronte, Agnes Grey 

Culture and Leisure

Research Themes Supported

Hull History Centre holds large numbers of collections on subjects related to culture and leisure. Such collections can aid research into many areas including:

  • Cultural Regeneration
  • Choral and Orchestral Music
  • Cricket Clubs and Grounds
  • Football Clubs and Stadiums
  • Rugby Clubs and Stadiums
  • Rowing Clubs
  • Swimming Clubs and Baths
  • Rambling Societies and Walks
  • Parks and Leisure Use of Public Space
  • Women’s Leisure

Typical Record Formats

Culture and leisure records commonly include minutes, annual reports, correspondence, membership lists, programmes, ephemeral printed material, photographs, press cuttings.

Key collections

The following collections have significant research potential in the area of culture and leisure:

  • Hull Literary Club (C DSLIT)
  • Hull Philharmonic Society (C DSPH)
  • Hull CHA Rambling Club (C DSRC)
  • Georgian Society for East Yorkshire (U DGS)

Further collections

The following PDF contains a list of HHC collections that may be useful to researchers interested in various aspects of culture and leisure.

Additional supporting material

The following material may also be useful when researching this area:

  • Local Studies and historical maps – these can help trace the development of buildings such as club houses, sports grounds, etc.
  • Local newspapers, available on microfilm or via the British Newspaper Archive Online – society formation and meetings, sports results, advertisement of events, etc. are often reported.
  • ‘Literature & Drama’ collections – these include material relating to theatre going and acting groups.