Skip to content

Archive Collections at HHC: Political Parties

Guide to material held at Hull History Centre arranged by research theme, record creator and document type, with copies of published source guides.

On this page:

“Damn your principles! Stick to your party”

Benjamin Disraeli 

Political Parties

Research Themes Supported

Hull History Centre holds the archival collections of a number of political parties, usually with a local connection to the area or the University of Hull. Such collections can aid research into many areas including:

  • Interaction Between Constituency Politics and National Politics
  • Labour Party History
  • Communist Party of Great Britain
  • Socialist Party History
  • Co-operative Society

Typical Record Formats

Political party records commonly include election campaign and publicity material, minutes of meetings, reports, press cuttings, photographs, and publications.

Key collections

The following collections have significant research potential in the area of political party records:

  • Communist Party of Great Britain, Hull Branch (U DCP)
  • Social Democratic Party, Beverley and Haltemprice Branch (U DSD)
  • Hull Labour Party (U DX214)

Further collections

The following PDF contains a list of HHC collections that may be useful to researchers interested in political parties.

Additional supporting material

The following material may also be useful when researching this area:

  • Newspapers, which often contain reports and interviews relating individual representatives of political parties, opinions on a hot political topic, and commentary on parliamentary activities.