Skip to content

Archive Collections at HHC: Charities & Pressure Groups

Guide to material held at Hull History Centre arranged by research theme, record creator and document type, with copies of published source guides.

On this page:

“There is no exercise better for the heart than reaching down and lifting people up”

John Holmes 

Charities and Pressure Groups

Research Themes Supported

Hull History Centre holds the archival collections of a number of charities and pressure groups. Such collections can aid research into many areas including:

  • Animal Rights
  • Civil and Human Rights
  • Peace Movement
  • Welfare of Immigrants
  • Gender Rights
  • Gay Rights
  • Protection of Georgian Architecture
  • Anti-Fascism
  • Co-operative Movement
  • Support for Conscientious Objectors
  • Anti-Conscription
  • Policing of Protest
  • Labour Movement
  • Aid for Prisoners
  • Welfare of Seafarers and Their Families
  • Local Almshouses
  • Local Trusts and Funds

Typical Record Formats

Charity and pressure group records commonly include minutes, reports, correspondence, campaign literature, posters, photographs, and case papers, although the latter may be subject to closure under Data Protection legislation.

Key collections

The following collections have significant research potential in the area of charity and pressure group records:

  • Charterhouse Almshouses (C WT)
  • Council for Academic Freedom (U DAF)
  • National Council for Civil Liberties, aka Liberty (U DCL)
  • International Voluntary Service (U DIVS)

Further collections

The following PDF contains a list of HHC collections that may be useful to researchers interested in charities and pressure groups.

Additional supporting material

The following material may also be useful when researching this area:

  • Newspapers, which can be useful for gathering contextual information around a particular issue, they can also be useful if looking for advertisements and reports of meetings of groups and charities.