Archive Collections at Hull History Centre
Hull History Centre holds thousands of archival collections, available for use in research projects and coursework.
This guide allows you to browse the collections by research theme, creator and document type, and provides links to online catalogue descriptions for further information.
Under each of these main headings you will find pages exploring different research themes, creators or document types. In each instance, you will find spotlight features highlighting key collections, and a list of further collections held at Hull History Centre.
Hull History Centre's online catalogue
You can use the catalogue to search our holdings and to find out more about the collections discussed in this guide.
If you wish to look up any of the collections mentioned in this guide:
- Go to the 'Advanced Search' option
- Enter the reference number of any collection that interests you into the 'Reference No' search field
- You will need to remove all spaces from the data you enter, i.e. 'U DCL' must become 'UDCL'
If you require any further advice on History Centre holdings, the Hull University Archives team are happy to help in any way they can. Questions should be sent to firstname.lastname@example.org.
Hull History Centre's Online Research Guides
You can also access further online research guides produced by Hull History Centre via the website.
Browse additional research guides by theme:
Access research guides by A-Z list:
Upcoming archives workshops
Find details of our archival skills workshops and how to book on to a session.
Request a personal appointment
Want to find archive material for use in your own research or coursework? One of the archivists from Hull University Archives will be happy to chat with you. Email email@example.com to make an appointment.
Visit Hull History Centre
In order to gain physical access to any of the collections highlighted in this guide, you will need to visit Hull History Centre. See the Hull History Centre website for details of opening times and practicalities.
The building is on Worship Street, which is behind the Hull New Theatre and opposite the Old English Gentleman pub.
You can contact us on 01482 317500 or by emailing firstname.lastname@example.org.
You can also explore the facilities available at Hull History Centre in our Using Hull History Centre SkillsGuide.