Skip to main content

Archive Collections at HHC: Members of Parliament

Guide to material held at Hull History Centre, arranged by theme, creator and document type

“When in that House M.P.'s divide, If they've a brain and cerebellum, too, They've got to leave that brain outside, And vote just as their leaders tell 'em to”

W.S Gilbert, Iolanthe 

Members of Parliament

Research Themes Supported

Hull History Centre holds the archival collections of a number of members of parliament, usually with a local connection to the area or the University of Hull. Such collections can aid research into many areas including:

  • Careers of Individual MPs
  • Interaction Between Constituency Politics and National Politics
  • Elections and Election Campaigning
  • Parliamentary Inquiries and Committees

MPs records commonly include election campaign and publicity material, constituency correspondence, committee papers such as minutes and reports, drafts of speeches, press cuttings, interviews, and personal papers such as photographs, diaries and autobiography drafts.


Key collections

The following collections have significant research potential in the area of Members of Parliament records:

  • Eric Lubbock, Liberal MP (U DML)
  • Christopher Mullin, Labour MP (U DMU)
  • Patrick Wall, Conservative MP (U DPW)

Further collections

The following PDF contains a list of HHC collections that may be useful to researchers interested in Members of Parliament and political parties.

The following material may also be useful when researching this area:

  • Newspapers, which often contain reports and interviews relating individual MPs, representatives of political parties, opinions on a hot political topic, and commentary on parliamentary activities./li>