On this page:
“We are not divided; All one body we, One in hope and doctrine, One in charity”
Religious Congregations
Research Themes Supported
Hull History Centre holds the archival collections of a number of religious congregations, church and groups. Such collections can aid research into many areas including:
- Quakers and Quakerism
- Monasticism
- Methodists and Methodism
- Jewish Community in Hull
- Roman Catholicism
- Anglicanism
- Miscellaneous Non-Conformity
Typical Record Formats
Religious congregation records commonly include minutes, registers of membership, records relating to births, marriages and deaths, building plans, correspondence, newsletters and publications, press cuttings and photographs, trust deeds and land documents.
Key collections
The following collections have significant research potential in the area of religious congregation records:
- Hull Methodist Mission (C DCM)
- Marrick Priory (U DDCA2/29)
- Hull and Pickering Meeting of the Society of Friends (U DQR)
Further collections
The following PDF contains a list of HHC collections that may be useful to researchers interested in religious congregations.
- Source Guide Religious Congregations List of collections created by religious congregations at HHC
Additional supporting material
The following material may also be useful when researching this area:
- Trade Directories produced annually, these provide a brief administrative summary of active religious congregations and associated buildings at the front of each volume.
- Local studies photographs and illustrations, this collection contains many images of local religious buildings.
- Building regulation plans, these are plans submitted to the local authority in order to gain permission for new builds or alterations. Note that Church of England building permissions were administered by CofE dioceses and so these plans usually relate to non-conformist buildings.
