Skip to main content

Archive Collections at HHC: Families & Estates

Guide to material held at Hull History Centre, arranged by theme, creator and document type

“It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune, must be in want of a wife”

Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice  

Families and Estates

Research Themes Supported

Hull History Centre holds the archival collections of a number of landed families and estates in the East Riding of Yorkshire. Such collections can aid research into many areas including:

  • Land Ownership and Transfer
  • Estate and Household Management
  • Women’s Role in Estate and Household Management
  • Marriage Settlements and Female Landownership
  • Tenancies and Tenants
  • Local Magistrates
  • Civic Office Holding
  • Studies of Individual Families
  • Heraldry
  • Country House Architecture and Decoration
  • Diary Keeping and Letter Writing
  • Manorial History

Families and estates records commonly include title deeds, court rolls, marriage settlements, rentals, estate plans, leases and releases, surrenders, mortgages, diaries, household books, photographs, and correspondence.


Key collections

The following collections have significant research potential in the area of family and estate records:

  • Barnard Family of South Cave (U DDBA)
  • Hotham Family of  Scorborough and South Dalton (U DDHO)
  • Sykes Family of Sledmere (U DDSY)

Further collections

The following PDF contains a list of HHC collections that may be useful to researchers interested in landed families and estates.

The following material may also be useful when researching this area:

  • Trade Directories produced annually, these provide a brief administrative summary of the local authority at the beginning of volumes, and allow you to trace civic office holders.
  • Ancestry and Find My Past, online databases which allow you to trace family connections.