Skip to content

Archive Collections at HHC: Landscape & Buildings

Guide to material held at Hull History Centre arranged by research theme, record creator and document type, with copies of published source guides.

On this page:

“A path is a prior interpretation of the best way to traverse a landscape”

Rebecca Solnit, Wanderlust: A History of Walking 

Landscape and Buildings

Research Themes Supported

Hull History Centre holds large numbers of collections on subjects related to landscape and buildings. Such collections can aid research into many areas including:

  • Urban Development
  • Rural Change
  • Architecture
  • Change of Land and Building Use
  • Public Space Provision
  • Domestic Spaces
  • Dock Development
  • Civic Spaces
  • Land Ownership
  • Tenancies

Typical Record Formats

Landscape and buildings records commonly include committee minutes and reports, building plans registers and files, maps, trade directories, deeds, estate plans, enclosure surveys, rentals, court rolls, accounts, photographs, illustrations, sales catalogues.

Key collections

The following collections have significant research potential in the area of landscape and buildings:

  • Hull City Council Buildings Plans (C TAB)
  • Local Studies Illustration Collection (LP)
  • Crust Todd and Mills Land Agents and Solicitors, East Yorkshire (U DDCV)

Further collections

The following PDF contains a list of HHC collections that may be useful to researchers interested in various aspects of landscape and buildings.

Additional supporting material

The following material may also be useful when researching this area:

  • Local newspapers, available on microfilm or via the British Newspaper Archive Online – new construction projects, the development of areas of land, and significant building sales are usually reported on in the newspapers.