Skip to content

Archive Collections at HHC: Politics & Protest

Guide to material held at Hull History Centre arranged by research theme, record creator and document type, with copies of published source guides.

On this page:

“A riot is the language of the unheard”

Martin Luther King 

Politics and Protest

Research Themes Supported

Hull History Centre holds large numbers of collections on subjects related to politics and protest. Such collections can aid research into many areas including:

  • MPs
  • Political Parties
  • Socialism
  • Communism
  • Labour Movement
  • Co-operative Movement
  • Student Activism
  • Political Campaign Groups
  • Civil Rights
  • Miscarriages of Justice
  • Elections
  • Peace Movement
  • Anti-Fascism
  • Animal Rights
  • Policing and Protest Suppression
  • Trade Unionism

Typical Record Formats

Politics and protest records commonly include campaign publicity, correspondence, diaries, photographs, reports, press cuttings, publications, minutes, annual reports.

Key collections

The following collections have significant research potential in the area of politics and protest:

  • British Union for the Abolition of Vivisection (U DBV)
  • National Council for Civil Liberties, aka Liberty (U DCL)
  • Joint Council for the Welfare of Immigrants (U DJC)

Further collections

The following PDF contains a list of HHC collections that may be useful to researchers interested in various aspects of politics and protest.

Additional supporting material

The following material may also be useful when researching this area:

  • Local newspapers, available on microfilm or via the British Newspaper Archive Online – major political events and issues are usually commented on in newspapers, which also often contain interviews with notable individuals and representatives.