Skip to content

Archive Collections at HHC: War & Conflict

Guide to material held at Hull History Centre arranged by research theme, record creator and document type, with copies of published source guides.

On this page:

“War is what happens when language fails”

Margaret Atwood 

War and Conflict

Research Themes Supported

Hull History Centre holds a large number of collections documenting aspects of war, and has a particular strength in the area of WWII civil defence. Such collections can aid research into many areas including:

  • WWI
  • WWII
  • War and Democracy
  • Conscientious Objection
  • Air Raid Precaution and Civil Defence
  • Zeppelins
  • Impact of War on Urban Landscape
  • Post-War Regeneration
  • Peace Movement
  • Prisoners of War
  • Evacuation

Typical Record Formats

War and conflict records commonly include civil defence files, committee minutes and reports, ARP personnel cards, air raid files, bomb damage maps, diaries, press cuttings, correspondence.

Key collections

The following collections have significant research potential in the area of war and conflict:

  • WWII ARP Report and Control Service Records (C TYA)
  • No Conscription Fellowship, Willesden Branch (U DCO)
  • Union of Democratic Control (U DDC)

Further collections

The following PDF contains a list of HHC collections that may be useful to researchers interested in various aspects of war and conflict.

Additional supporting material

The following material may also be useful when researching this area:

  • Local newspapers, available on microfilm or via the British Newspaper Archive Online – major events and issues associated with war and conflict are usually commented on in newspapers.