Skip to main content

The Digital Student: - Images & photos

Images and photos

Most of the images you find on a Google image search are not usable without breaking copyright. The websites below provide access to thousands of photos that you can freely use in your work. It is important to check the license of each image carefully as some will require attribution and some may not let you adapt the images as you require. It is really important to avoid copyrighted material in anything you intend to publish or share. 

Don't forget - if you are using any images in written academic work or presentations, it is good academic practice to still cite your sources. 

Confused by image licenses? Make sure you check our handy guide

Filtering your web searches for usable images

Most search engines allow you to filter for creative commons licenses and re-use. Check out Flickr, Google Advanced Search, Bing Advanced search and Creative Commons Search.

Free image and photo websites 

These websites offer thousands of public domain and CC0 images that are free for re-use and modification. Check the details of each website carefully as some will need attribution as part of the licence. 

Unsplash
  • Some images need to be attributed but most not
  • Fully searchable
  • Excellent collection

Access Pixabay

Unsplash
  • No attribution needed
  • Some searchability
  • ​Quite arty.
     

Access Unsplash

Chapter 3
  • No attribution needed
  • Searchable, categorised as well
  • Useful feature to test-drive images before downloading.

Access Picjumbo

Superfamous
  • No attribution needed
  • Not searchable
  • Beautiful nature inspired and architectural pictures

Access Superfamous

Imcreator
  • Attribution needed for some images – check after selection
  • Basic search functionality
     

Access Imcreator

Freeimages
  • Some images need to be attributed but most not
  • Searchable.
     

Access Freeimages

Morguefile
  • No attribution needed
  • Fully searchable
  • Big range.
     

Access Morguefile

Gratisography
  • Attribution needed
  • Not searchable but categorised
  • ​Most images are quirky with a sense of fun.

Access Gratisography

  • All photos free to use
  • No attribution required (but it is appreciated!)
  • Searchable and categorised​

Access Pexels

  • All CC0 and free of copyright

Access pxhere

Museums and art galleries

UK museum collections increasingly provide digital images which are often free for educational or scholarly use. Check the following websites for more information:


Further culture and heritage images

Some of these images may still be in copyright, so check each website for further detail of how you can use these in your work. Click 'more' under each link for more details of how these images may be licensed for re-use.