On this page:
“There's no such thing as dead languages, only dormant minds”
Introduction to language
Latin was the official language of the legal profession in England until 1733. Researchers of the Early Modern period are, therefore, likely to encounter Latin documents at some point when using archival material.
It is common to find records such as deeds, registers, wills and court papers written in Latin well in to the 16th century. These records tend to have a standardised structure that employs set phrases. Understanding key set phrases employed in different record types can help researchers to pinpoint pertinent information within a document, without having to understand every word that is written.
From the late 16th century, it becomes more common to find such records in English; although some habits persists, such as the use of Latin dates and Latinised English names.
Therefore, whilst it is not necessary to be a Latin scholar to study the Early Modern period, some of the resources outlined below can be helpful.
- Perseus Latin Dictionary An online dictionary of Latin terms from Perseus Digital Library
- University of British Columbia Latin Dictionary An online Latin dictionary created by the University of British Columbia
- Numen - The Latin Lexicon An online Latin dictionary and grammar tool
- Latin Online An introduction to Latin produced by the Linguistics Centre of the University of Texas at Austin
- Learn Medieval Latin A beginners Latin tutorial from The National Archives
Latin for Local History by
Latin for Local History provides a self-teaching guide for those historians who wish to tackle the language in which the majority of pre-eighteenth century historical records have been written. It is unique in dealing onlywith Latin found in historical records of the medieval period. Practice material and exercises are provided in the form of documents most commonly encountered by the historian in their research - deeds, charters, court rolls, accounts, bishops' registers and so on.
Call Number: PA 2923 G6ISBN: 0582487285Publication Date: 1978-06-19
The Shorter Revised Latin Primer (Kennedy's Latin Primer, Beginners Version). by
Kennedy's Latin books have acquired a firm place in English culture: They are not simply excellent textbooks on the Latin language but are symbols of what schoolchildren have endured and enjoyed in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. ----- Even thought this famous book is being brought to you in a new edition it remains complete and includes extra material from Kennedy's other grammar books. ---- These books provide clear and simple explanations of written and spoken Latin.
Call Number: PA 2045 K3ISBN: 9781843560319Publication Date: 2007-10-01
Latin by
A handbook for students of Latin and those using sources in Latin
Call Number: PA 2025 H2ISBN: 0674512901Publication Date: 1976-01-01
A dictionary of Latin tags and phrases by
A Latin dictionary
Call Number: 428 EHRISBN: 0709031459Publication Date: 1986
Latin Phrase Book by
"Nothing could be more systematic or more complete." - The Spectator Meissner's Latin Phrase Book has long been the standard school guide to Latin idiom. Covering every sphere of activity known to the Romans, from domestic life to politics, law, religion and warfare, it lists in each category all the main expressions used in classical Latin and concludes with a 50 page index. This classic textbook offers a large collection of Latin idioms and phrases organised by topic. Originally published in German as Lateinische Phraseologie, it was translated into English from the sixth German edition with supplementary words and phrases by H.W. Auden. It is an indispensible guide to the anyone wishing to write or understand the language.
Call Number: PA 2050 M5ISBN: 0715614703Publication Date: 1997-09-18
Medieval Latin word list from British and Irish sources by Call Number: PA 2820 B3ISBN: B0014KVU86Publication Date: 1934
More Latin for the Illiterati by
First published in 1999. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
Call Number: PA 2365 E5 S8ISBN: 0415922119Publication Date: 1999-06-21
The Record Interpreter by
Excerpt from The Record Interpreter: A Collection of Abbreviations, Latin Words and Names Used in English Historical Manuscripts and Records The present volume is really an amplification of the Appendix to the ninth edition of Wright's Court Hand Restored, which I brought out in 1879, with the addition of a list of the abbreviated forms of Latin and French words used in English records and manuscripts. About the Publisher Forgotten Books publishes hundreds of thousands of rare and classic books. Find more at www.forgottenbooks.com This book is a reproduction of an important historical work. Forgotten Books uses state-of-the-art technology to digitally reconstruct the work, preserving the original format whilst repairing imperfections present in the aged copy. In rare cases, an imperfection in the original, such as a blemish or missing page, may be replicated in our edition. We do, however, repair the vast majority of imperfections successfully; any imperfections that remain are intentionally left to preserve the state of such historical works.
Call Number: Z 111 M3ISBN: 1332819591Publication Date: 2016-06-28
