London Study Centre Library Guide: eBooks and eResources

eBooks

There are lots of eBooks providers, and you will use several eBook platforms that vary in how they look and work.

Some common differences between eBook platforms are:

• whether you can download the eBook or have to read it online
• whether, and how, you can change the settings such as page colour and size of the font
• how much you can print or copy
• how many people can use the eBook at the same time

These limits, also known as licences or 'licensing terms' are set by the publishers and are legal obligations placed upon the Library and our users. The Library cannot change them.

eBook licences

Understanding a little about eBook licences helps you to plan your studying. Here are the most common licence types, and how to find out which applies to the titles you need.

Concurrent user licences determine the number of people who can access the eBook at the same time. Examples include:

• 1 concurrent user. One person at a time can access eBooks with this licence. They may also be called "single-user" eBooks. If one of these eBooks is in use, you may be able to ‘request’ or ‘reserve’ access - the wording varies. When the eBook becomes available, you will receive an email alert.
• Multiple concurrent users. For example, a licence for 5 concurrent users allows 5 people to use the eBook at the same time.

• Unlimited number of concurrent users. There is no restriction on the number of people who can simultaneously use eBooks with this licence.

Annual accesses licences do not limit the number of simultaneous users. The limit is on the number of times the eBook can be accessed within a 12-month period.

An ‘access’ is one person's use of the eBook within a 24-hour period. That person may log-in and out multiple times in that period, or read the eBook for several hours.

eBook licence information in Library search

In Library search , you can check to see how many users can access an eBook at the same time.

To do this:

• Search for the eBook you need
• In the results list, click on More information beneath the image of the book
• Look for the Copyright/ Licence field

Online Library resources

As well as eBooks, the Library has extensive collections of other online information sources, known as eResources, including:

• journals, both individual titles and collections
• research databases
• films
• newspapers, current and archive collections
• law cases
• archives, national and international

You will find it easier to access these eResources through the Library website. The links have been thoroughly tested both on and off-campus, and most of the links will automatically identify you as a member of the University of Hull.

Where you do need to log in, you will usually need to enter the six-digit user ID and password that you use to log in to Canvas.

You can find eResources by title in the Databases A-Z and by discipline in the Databases by subject lists on the same page. There is also a Search for things page that allows you to view eResources by format, such as audio recordings, and maps.

For more information about accessing online Library eResources visit Connecting from off campus.

How to search the Library collections

You will find it useful to watch our videos:

• Finding quality journal articles for PG: tips and techniques
• Finding quality journal articles for PG: Searching Library databases [EBSCOhost & Web of Science]

They can be accessed here.

Search strategy

Before you start searching for information in electronic databases, it's always worth spending some time thinking about the words you will be looking for (your search terms) and how these will be combined.

This process is known as devising your search strategy and this can then be applied across all of the databases you use. For support, refer to the Planning a search strategy page of the Finding books & journals guide.