On this page:
A good base in maths in essential for all engineering and computer science students but the guides on this page have been identified as particularly relevant to your disciplines.
- Differentiation 1: Functions and rules Simple functions Product rule Quotient rule Function of a function (chain rule)
- Differentiation 2: Functions and parametric equations Exponential functions Logarithmic functions Implicit differentiation Logarithmic differentiation Parametric equations
- Differential Equations 1 Simple functions of a variable Product rule Quotient rule Function of a function (Chain rule)
- Differential Equations 2 2nd Order Differential Equations
- Integration 1: Basic and definite Basic Integration Definite integration
- Integration 2 Integration by substitution Integration by parts Reduction methods
- Partial fractions & integration Partial fractions Integration using partial fractions
- Resources in the libraryIn addition to the handy online guides above, there are a range of books and ebooks available from the university library.
- Trigonometry & Pythagoras' TheoremBumper guide covers all below topics
- Resources in the libraryIn addition to the handy online guides above, there are a range of books and ebooks available from the university library.
- Complex numbers Introduction Argand diagram The four rules Modulus-Argument form Roots
- Vectors 1: Operations, scalar/vector products What is a vector? Arithmetic operations on vectors Scalar (dot) product Vector (cross) product
- Vectors 2: Lines and planes Unit vectors, normals and bases Vector equations of straight lines and planes Intersections of lines and planes Div, Grad, Curl & the Laplacian
Engineering Mathematics [eBook] by
The best-selling introductory mathematics textbook for students on science and engineering degree and pre-degree courses. Sales stand at more than half a million copies world-wide. Its unique programmed approach takes students through the mathematics they need in a step-by-step fashion with a wealth of examples and exercises. The text demands that students engage with it by asking them to complete steps that they should be able to manage from previous examples or knowledge they have acquired, while carefully introducing new steps. By working with the authors through the examples, students become proficient as they go. By the time they come to trying examples on their own, confidence is high. Aimed at undergraduates on Foundation and First Year degree programmes in all Engineering disciplines and Science. The Foundation section covers mathematics from GCSE onwards to allow for revision and gap-filling, and so means the book can be used for a range of abilities and all levels of access.
ISBN: 9781137031204Publication Date: 2013-03-22
Foundation Maths - Sixth Edition [eBook] by
Foundation Maths has been written for students taking higher and further education courses who have not specialised in mathematics on post-16 qualifications and need to use mathematical tools in their courses. It is ideally suited to those studying marketing, business studies, management, science, engineering, social science, geography, combined studies and design. It will be useful for those who lack confidence and who need careful, steady guidance in mathematical methods. For those whose mathematical expertise is already established, the book will be a helpful revision and reference guide. The style of the book also makes it suitable for self-study and distance learning.
ISBN: 1292095199Publication Date: 08/03/2016
Advanced Engineering Mathematics [print book] by
A long-standing, best-selling, comprehensive textbook covering all the mathematics required on upper level engineering mathematics undergraduate courses. Its unique approach takes you through all the mathematics you need in a step-by-step fashion with a wealth of examples and exercises. The text demands that you engage with it by asking you to complete steps that you should be able to manage from previous examples or knowledge you have acquired, while carefully introducing new steps. By working with the authors through the examples, you become proficient as you go. By the time you come to trying examples on their own, confidence is high. Suitable for undergraduates in second and third year courses on engineering and science degrees.
ISBN: 9781352010251Publication Date: 2020-03-27
Advanced Topics in Applied Mathematics [print book] by
This book is ideal for engineering, physical science and applied mathematics students and professionals who want to enhance their mathematical knowledge. Advanced Topics in Applied Mathematics covers four essential applied mathematics topics: Green's functions, integral equations, Fourier transforms and Laplace transforms. Also included is a useful discussion of topics such as the Wiener-Hopf method, finite Hilbert transforms, the Cagniard-De Hoop method and the proper orthogonal decomposition. This book reflects Sudhakar Nair's long classroom experience and includes numerous examples of differential and integral equations from engineering and physics to illustrate the solution procedures. The text includes exercise sets at the end of each chapter and a solutions manual, which is available for instructors.
ISBN: 9781107006201Publication Date: 2011-03-07
Optimization for Engineering Problems [eBook] by
Optimization is central to any problem involving decision-making in engineering. Optimization theory and methods deal with selecting the best option regarding the given objective function or performance index. New algorithmic and theoretical techniques have been developed for this purpose, and have rapidly diffused into other disciplines. As a result, our knowledge of all aspects of the field has grown even more profound. In Optimization for Engineering Problems, eminent researchers in the field present the latest knowledge and techniques on the subject of optimization in engineering. Whereas the majority of work in this area focuses on other applications, this book applies advanced and algorithm-based optimization techniques specifically to problems in engineering.
ISBN: 9781119644606Publication Date: 2019-07-10
Measurement and Data Analysis for Engineering and Science [eBook] by
Measurement and Data Analysis for Engineering and Science, Fourth Edition, provides up-to-date coverage of experimentation methods in science and engineering. This edition adds five new "concept chapters" to introduce major areas of experimentation generally before the topics are treated in detail, to make the text more accessible for undergraduate students. These feature Measurement System Components, Assessing Measurement System Performance, Setting Signal Sampling Conditions, Analyzing Experimental Results, and Reporting Experimental Results. More practical examples, case studies, and a variety of homework problems have been added; and MATLAB and Simulink resources have been updated.
ISBN: 9781138050860Publication Date: 2017-12-18
- Maths for EngineeringOnline courses in all aspects of mathematics for engineering
- Set Theoryfrom Maths is Fun
- Mathematics for Engineering ExemplarsCollection from the Royal Academy of Engineering
- Maths for electrical engineeringPreparatory maths need to study electronic engineering from the Khan Academy
