On this page:
Most areas of business require a good level of mathematical knowledge. The guides on this page have been identified as being particularly relevant to your discipline.
- Online Statistics TextbookThe Hyperstat Online Statistics Textbook by David Lane of Rice University covers most common areas of statistics including probability, confidence intervals, and hyphothesis testing.
- Statistics GuideDescribed as "for laboratory and clinical researchers" and created as a companion for the GraphPad program, but suitable for anyone wanting a clear explanation of statistical thinking, types of data and statistical tests. Written by Dr Harvey Motulsky.
- Estimation and mental methods General guidelines for calculating Addition Subtraction Multiplication Division
- Fractions What are fractions? Addition and subtraction Multiplication Division
- Fractions and Decimals & Percentages Fractions and Decimals & Percentages: how to link them
- Percentages Finding a percentage Increasing by percentage Decreasing by percentage Finding a percentage change
- Power of 10, Units & Standard Form Units names & conversion Scientific or standard form Degrees of accuracy
- Psychometric Tests (numerical) What are psychometric tests? What to expect Question types Online tests Practice questions Hints and tips
- Algebra 1: Using letters for numbers Using letters for number Substitution Simplification of expressions Indices
- Algebra 2: Expanding brackets & factorisation Expanding brackets Simple factorisation Quadratic factorisation Completing the square
- Algebra 3: Simple equations Solving simple equations Evaluation and transposition of formulae
- Algebra 4: Quadratic & simultaneous equations Solving quadratic equations Solving simultaneous equations
- Algebra: Factorising and Long Division 1 Revision of multiplying brackets Factorisation Long division in algebra
- Algebra - Factorising and Long Division 2 Revision of multiplying brackets Factorisation Long Division in Algebra
- Algebraic Fractions Simplification Multiplication & Division Addition & Subtraction
- Graphs 1 Introduction Straight line graphs Graphs of quadratics Common types of graph
- Graphs 2 Revision of straight line graphs and quadratics Cubics Quartics Higher powers Fractional functions Modulus functions
Calculus
- Differentiation 1: Functions and rules Simple functions Product rule Quotient rule Function of a function (chain rule)
- Differentiation 2: Functions and parametric equations Exponential functions Logarithmic functions Implicit differentiation Logarithmic differentiation Parametric equations
- Differential Equations 1 Simple functions of a variable Product rule Quotient rule Function of a function (Chain rule)
- Differential Equations 2 2nd Order Differential Equations
- Integration 1: Basic and definite Basic Integration Definite integration
- Integration 2 Integration by substitution Integration by parts Reduction methods
- Partial fraction & integration Partial fractions Integration using partial fractions
Academic and professional skills: quantitative methods [print book] by ISBN: 9781782361145Publication Date: 2012
Business Math: A Step-by-Step Handbook [eBook] by
Business Mathematics was written to meet the needs of a twenty-first century student. It takes a systematic approach to helping students learn how to think and centers on a structured process termed the PUPP Model (Plan, Understand, Perform, and Present). This process is found throughout the text and in every guided example to help students develop a step-by-step problem-solving approach. This textbook simplifies and integrates annuity types and variable calculations, utilizes relevant algebraic symbols, and is integrated with the Texas Instruments BAII+ calculator. It also contains structured exercises, annotated and detailed formulas, and relevant personal and professional applications in discussion, guided examples, case studies, and even homework questions.
Publication Date: 2021
Discovering Statistics Using IBM SPSS Statistics [print book] by
Hear about student feedback on the character features that make this book special...With an exciting new look, new characters to meet, and its unique combination of humour and step-by-step instruction, this award-winning book is the statistics lifesaver for everyone. From initial theory through to regression, factor analysis and multilevel modelling, Andy Field animates statistics and SPSS software with his famously bizarre examples and activities. What's brand new: A radical new design with original illustrations and even more colour A maths diagnostic tool to help students establish what areas they need to revise and improve on. A revamped online resource that uses video, case studies, datasets, testbanks and more to help students negotiate project work, master data management techniques, and apply key writing and employability skills New sections on replication, open science and Bayesian thinking Now fully up to date with latest versions of IBM SPSS Statistics©. All the online resources above (video, case studies, datasets, testbanks) can be easily integrated into your institution′s virtual learning environment or learning management system. This allows you to customize and curate content for use in module preparation, delivery and assessment. For instructions on how to upload the resources you want, please visit the Instructors′ page or alternatively, contact your local SAGE sales representative.Please note that ISBN: 9781526445780 comprises the paperback edition of the Fifth Edition and the student version of IBM SPSS Statistics. More information on this version of the software′s features can be found here.
ISBN: 9781526419521Publication Date: 2018-01-08
Essential Mathematics for Economic Analysis [eBook] by
This text provides an invaluable introduction to the mathematical tools that undergraduate economists need. The coverage is comprehensive, ranging from elementary algebra to more advanced material, whilst focusing on all the core topics that are usually taught in undergraduate courses on mathematics for economists.
ISBN: 0273760688Publication Date: 2012-08-16
Foundation Maths - Sixth Edition [eBook] by
Foundation Maths has been written for students taking higher and further education courses who have not specialised in mathematics on post-16 qualifications and need to use mathematical tools in their courses. It is ideally suited to those studying marketing, business studies, management, science, engineering, social science, geography, combined studies and design. It will be useful for those who lack confidence and who need careful, steady guidance in mathematical methods. For those whose mathematical expertise is already established, the book will be a helpful revision and reference guide. The style of the book also makes it suitable for self-study and distance learning.
ISBN: 1292095199Publication Date: 08/03/2016
Maths for Economics [print book] by
Maths for Economics provides a comprehensive and solid foundation in core mathematical principles and methods used in economics, beginning with revisiting basic skills in arithmetic, algebra, equation solving, and slowly building to more advanced topics.Suitable for those with a range of prior school-level expereince or more generally for those who feel they need to go back to the very basics, students can learn with confidence.Drawing on his extensive experience of teaching in the area, the author appreciates that maths can be a daunting topic for many. As such the text is fully supports the reader by using a combination of engaging learning features including summary sections, examples to show how theory is used inpractice and progress exercises, which encourage independent study. Each chapter ends with a conclusion check list to allow students to reflect on topics as they master them.Digital formats and resourcesThe fifth edition is available for students and institutions to purchase in a variety of formats, and is supported by online resources.The e-book offers a mobile experience and convenient access along with functionality tools, navigation features, and links that offer extra learning support: www.oxfordtextbooks.co.uk/ebooksOnline resources supporting the book include,For Students:- Ask the author forum- Excel tutorial- Maple tutorial- Further exercises- Answers to further questions- Expanded solutions to progress exercisesFor Lecturers:- Test exercises- Graphs from the book- Answers to test exercises
ISBN: 9780198839507Publication Date: 2021-08-17
Mathematics for Economics and Business [eBook] by
Assuming little prior knowledge, this market-leading text is a great companion for those who have not studied mathematics in depth before. Breaking topics down into short sections makes each new technique you learn seem less daunting. This book promotes self-paced learning and study, as students are encouraged to stop and check their understanding along the way by working through practice problems.
ISBN: 9781292074238Publication Date: 2015-07-16
Statistics for business and economics [eBook] by
Statistics for Business and Economics enables students to conduct serious analysis of applied problems rather than running simple "canned" applications. This text is also at a mathematically higher level than most business statistics texts and provides students with the knowledge they need to become stronger analysts for future managerial positions. The eighth edition of this book has been revised and updated to provide students with improved problem contexts for learning how statistical methods can improve their analysis and understanding of business and economics.
ISBN: 9780273767084Publication Date: 2012
Using Statistics: A Gentle Introduction [eBook] by
Guides readers through the field of statistics from the descriptive statistics to multidimensional approaches. This book includes illustrative examples that guide readers through: how to answer various types of research question; how to use different forms of analysis; and, the strengths and weaknesses of particular methods.
ISBN: 9780335235025Publication Date: 2007-10-01
- Statistics and probabilityFrom the Khan Academy
