Introduction to university study
University study brings new challenges, from coping with new-found independence to understanding what is expected of you in assessments.
This guide is designed to introduce you to essential information and point you in the direction of our more specific help should you need it.
Skills Team workshops and webinars
Skills for Study
The Skills for Study resource has modules on Getting reading for academic study and Time management as well as many more key skills you will need to develop at university.
Related books and eBooks from our collection
Brilliant Study Skills [eBook] by
An accessible guide to the most important skills a student needs to succeed on any undergraduate or diploma course. This book will give the reader a sound understanding of how they can get the most out of their abilities and apply this to their studies. It will provide instantaneous answers to specific questions on all of the most important areas of academic skills.
ISBN: 9780273734376Publication Date: 2010-12-09
How to Organize Yourself [book & eBook] by
How to Organize Yourself will help you to dramatically improve the way you work. With great tips on how to determine your goals, prioritize your tasks and manage your time, it also includes practical advice on how to: focus on the things that produce results; overcome distractions; build positive work habits; avoid information overload and make effective use of technology. Now in its fifth edition, new content covers the latest software advances that can help you get organized, how to deal with the ubiquitous presence of smartphones and how to adapt to the ever increasing scope for interruption and procrastination in our 24/7 lives. How to Organize Yourself will enable you to take control of your workload, reduce stress and fatigue, and free up time for the things that really matter. The creating success series of books... With over one million copies sold, the hugely popular Creating Success series covers a wide variety of topics and is written by an expert team of internationally best-selling authors and business experts. This indispensable business skills collection is packed with new features, practical content and inspiring guidance for readers across all stages of their careers.
ISBN: 9780749475789Publication Date: 2016-10-03
Skilful Time Management! [book & eBook] by
This title helps students to cope with the complex demands upon their time. It highlights time-management problems, shows how to assess and overcome them, examines how good work patterns may be established and how one-off events can be fitted into a work routine.
ISBN: 9780335222940Publication Date: 2007-10-01
Student Procrastination [book & eBook] by
Provides research based advice and practical suggestions to help students beat procrastination and perform better at university or college. Written by a recent graduate, the author gives students a chance to explore the root causes of procrastination and some of the best ways of eliminating it. With a combination of theory, practice, and case study stories and tips from other students, this book will help students seize the date and get more work done.
ISBN: 9781137312457Publication Date: 2014-04-17
Study Skills for Dummies [book & eBook] by
Students need to learn to manage their time, organise their studies, understand, learn, and convey a lot of information - and they need to learn to do it quickly. Whether you're fresh out of school, or a mature student returning to education, you now don't need to feel alone! With Study Skills For Dummies, you'll be given the know-how and confidence to achieve consistent results every time - and a lack of preparation will become a thing of the past. Discover how to excel at: Note-taking, speed-reading and essay-writing Improving your memory, critical thinking and analysis Using the internet to supplement study Exam skills and developing the best learning strategy to fit your specific needs and abilities
ISBN: 9780470748572Publication Date: 2009-06-22
Successful Time Management for Dummies [eBook] by
Do you need help with time management? Need to better manage your time at work or at home? Feel like there are never enough hours in the day? Successful Time Management For Dummies delivers practical solutions for getting organized, working better and faster, reducing stress, and getting rid of time-wasting distractions. You'll find out how to eliminate late nights at the office and spend more time with your family, friends, or even just yourself! This authoritative, plain-English guide shows you how to set yourself up for success, overcome common time management obstacles, and focus your efforts on your most important tasks and objectives. It explains how to determine the value of your time, provides fantastic tips on streamlining your workspace to speed up the flow, and even helps you minimize or eliminate interruptions from your workday. You'll discover how to: Assess your strengths and weaknesses and establish goals Create a routine and make the most of time-saving technology Prioritize daily efforts, block off time, plug in to-do items Grasp the time-equals-money concept and boost your hourly income Create an environment that fosters solid focus and establish boundaries Eliminate time-wasting behaviors and promote time-efficient habits Reduce stress and anxiety Say goodbye late nights at the office and enjoy your leisure time more At work or at play, don't let time pass you by. Get Successful Time Management For Dummies and make the most of every precious minute!
ISBN: 9781118595756Publication Date: 2013-01-03
Successful Time Management [book & eBook] by
Successful Time Management is packed with proven tips, tools and techniques to help you review and assess your time management and adopt new work practices to improve it. It includes great time-saving ideas, practical solutions and checklists, plus advice on: controlling paperwork, organizing your emails, delegating and working with others, prioritizing to focus on key issues, getting and staying organized. Fully updated for 2019, this 5th edition now features even more practical exercises, useful templates, and top tips to help you minimize time-wasting and interruptions, and focus on the priorities that will lead to success in your job and career. Successful Time Management will give you the tools to become more efficient and effective. The Creating Success series of books... Unlock vital skills, power up your performance and get ahead with the bestselling Creating Success series. Written by experts for new and aspiring managers and leaders, this million-selling collection of accessible and empowering guides will get you up to speed in no time. Packed with clever thinking, smart advice and the kind of winning techniques that really get results, you'll make fast progress, quickly reach your goals and create lasting success in your career.
ISBN: 9780749486198Publication Date: 2019-06-28
Time Management [book & eBook] by
This pocket-sized guide provides students with practical advice and suggestions for successfully managing all aspects of their time while studying, from prioritising tasks to planning for individual assignments, group tasks and exams. Activities and self-assessments help students to identify how they learn best so that they can develop time management strategies that work for them. Concise yet effective, this is an essential resource for any student looking to improve their time management skills. Ideal for self-study, it contains a section on troubleshooting for those looking for a quick-fix solution.
ISBN: 9780230299603Publication Date: 2011-07-29
