Jump to content on these pages:
“Academic journals are a favoured source of academic information. They usually offer a more current view than do text books, and have credibility due to the process of peer review”
The University Library provides access to a wide range of journal articles, available from PCs in the building or from your own device.
Where to find journal articles
Most of our journal articles (whether in print or online), can be found and accessed from the Library search. Journal articles can be accessed by searching for the title of the article or via topics and keywords.
Additional journal articles can also be found via your subject specific databases - available from the Databases by subject link on the Library website.
Conducting a basic search and accessing an item
- Go to the Library search box on the Library homepage.
- Type the name of the article you are searching for or enter a topic area (you can use double-quotation marks around your term to search for a phrase) and click on Search.
- You can filter your results further with the type Journal article using the options on the left hand side.
- You can also filter by publication year (sliding scale) on the left side of the list - Additional filters include peer reviewed; available online; subject discipline and language.
- If you find something you would like to access electronically, click the Available online button (or on the item title).
Using Find at Hull
Sometimes when searching for electronic information you will see the 
button. Click on this to see if there is a link to the electronic resource. If there is no link to an electronic version there will be a link to request through the Inter-Library loan service.
Doesn't work?
No system is perfect, and if you think it is odd that the button does not take you to a link for the resource it could be a fault.
Drop us an email at bjlcollections@hull.ac.uk to let us know the link wasn't working so we know to put it right.
Adding Find at Hull to Google Scholar
You can add the option to Google Scholar so that you can see which articles the Library subscribes to:
- Go to Google Scholar (scholar.google.co.uk).
- Select Settings at the top of the screen.
- Select Library links from the left hand menu.
- Type Hull into the search box, then select University of Hull - Full text at the University of Hull.
- Select Save.
When you now do a search, a link will appear at the right of each search result where Hull has a subscription to that material.
Using subject databases
Although the majority of journal articles can be found via the Library search, our subject databases enable you to find even more!
Many of these databases search within a specific subject discipline, which means your results are more relevant to your own research. These databases typically enable you conduct an advanced search, create a personal account (so that you can save articles permanently into folders) and save your search. See more about this on our Planning a search strategy pages.
You might find that your research spans several subject areas, so you can search multiple databases to make sure you don't miss any key research. Alternatively, you can search our multidisciplinary databases which cover a wide range of subjects.
To see what subject specific databases are available to you, then browse the Databases: A-Z page.
The video below will show you how to search these.
