Copyright
A guide to using copyright material for University-related activities, and protecting your own copyright in a digital world.
Recommended Reading
- The National Archives: Copyright and Related Rights (2022) Guidance on UK copyright and related intellectual property rights, from the official archive and publisher for the UK Government.
Copyright by
Cornish's Copyright is the standard work in its field and is indispensable for all librarians and information professionals who are looking for solutions to their copyright problems. The book explains the provisions of the UK Copyright Act and supporting legislation in quick and easy question-and-answer form. This revised edition is fully updated to take into account all of the changes that have come into force since the 6th edition was published in 2015. All types of material that may attract copyright are considered, including: literary, dramatic and musical works artistic works sound recordings films and video broadcast databases computer programs and websites. The text is amplified by the use of practical examples to illustrate complex points and complemented by a detailed index that enables the enquirer to pinpoint topics and proposed action quickly and accurately. The appendices provide helpful lists of addresses and selected further sources of information. This book will be invaluable for all librarians, information professionals and students who are looking for solutions to their copyright problems.
ISBN: 9781783304233Publication Date: 2019
Copyright for Archivists and Record Managers. 6th edition by
What is copyright? Who owns it and for how long? What rights does it confer, and what are the limitations and exceptions? This comprehensive manual uniquely outlines copyright law in the UK with special reference to the unpublished materials commonly found in archive and records collections such as maps, legal records, records of local authorities and parish registers. It also gives comprehensive information on authorship and duration of copyright in older as well as modern works and on the wide range of exceptions and limitations to copyright, particularly those relevant to archivists, records managers, librarians and curators. It offers advice on rights in the electronic environment, moral rights and rights in databases and contains extensive tables of duration of copyright in other countries.
ISBN: 9781783304486Publication Date: 2019
Navigating Copyright for Libraries by
Information is a critical resource for personal, economic and social development. Libraries and archives are the primary access point to information for individuals and communities with much of the information protected by copyright or licence terms. In this complex legal environment, librarians and information professionals operate at the fulcrum of copyright's balance, ensuring understanding of and compliance with copyright legislation and enabling access to knowledge in the pursuit of research, education and innovation. This book, produced on behalf of the IFLA Copyright and other Legal Matters (CLM) Advisory Committee, provides basic and advanced information about copyright, outlines limitations and exceptions, discusses communicating with users and highlights emerging copyright issues. The chapters note the significance of the topic; describe salient points of the law and legal concepts; present selected comparisons of approaches around the world; highlight opportunities for reform and advocacy; and help libraries and librarians find their way through the copyright maze.
ISBN: 9783110737158Publication Date: 2022-08-22
