Skip to main content

Remote learning: Your online library

“Brynmor Jones Library - More then a building full of books - your conduit to a world of resources” 


The University Library provides access to a wide range of digital resources helping you to trace eBooks and articles, track down internet resources and view the full text of journal articles from your own device. If you need help accessing any information resource, please get in touch. We have staff available on live chat every Monday to Friday 9 am to 5 pm. Alternatively, you can get in touch via the Support Portal.

 

Using the library catalogue

Most of the resources, both print and online, can be found in, and accessed from the Library Catalogue. The catalogue also includes many valuable resources which remain in printed form only.

Finding eBooks

Our eBook collections provide 24/7 access to important learning and research materials.

Quick search the library catalogue for ebooks by entering keyword(s) below and clicking the search button.

 

Search eBooks

Video guide:

Top tip:  If you have searched the library and not found the book or journal article you need online, you can still obtain your item in a number of ways. See our Can't find it page for more details.

Finding eJournals

Specific journal articles can be accessed by searching for a journal name on the Library catalogue and navigating to the appropriate year, volume and issue. if you are searching for articles on a topic use either Summon or the subject databases on the Articles and Journals tab of your Subject LibGuide.

Search Journal Articles

Summon searches across the majority of the library's databases and electronic resources, covering journal articles, electronic books, web resources, newspaper articles and more.

Search Summon:

   
Video guide:

Subject Databases

Use our subject databases to find journal articles specifically in your subject area. Our Subject LibGuides bring together the best databases for your subject. We recommend that you use the Articles and Journals tab to access appropriate databases.


Off-campus access

Accessing resources off-campus using Shibboleth

Access to the majority of our electronic resources (eBooks, journal articles etc) is controlled by a system called Shibboleth. This is a national system which enables access to web-based resources for the academic community. Often you are using this system without being aware of it (for example when you are on-campus) but if you are off-campus, or using a mobile device, you will often need to select it specifically and enter a username and password.

Username and password

You do not need an additional username and password to access resources via Shibboleth. Your standard university username and password will give you access.

Links to log in using Shibboleth

Although many different e-resources use Shibboleth, the links you need to click on to use it can have a variety of different names. When accessing a resource, look out for one of the following links (or variants of them):

  • Anything with the word 'Shibboleth' in it.
  • Institutional login or library login
  • UK Access Management Federation

You will usually be asked to select your institution from a dropdown menu (sometimes choosing UK Access first).

  • Select University of Hull - you will then be automatically re-directed to the University of Hull Central Authentication Service screen.
  • Enter your University User ID and password and you will then be re-directed back to the resource and be logged in for use.

Please always remember to logout from e-resources when you have stopped using them. Once logged into one service/resource using the University of Hull Central Authentication Service, you should not need to enter your University User ID and password again when accessing other Shibboleth resources within the same web session.


Creative Commons License  The Remote learning SkillsGuide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. See embedded YouTube resources for their terms of distribution.