Skip to content

Incorporating archives into your learning and teaching activities: SkillsGuides for Students

Guidance for course and module tutors exploring how to incorporate archives into learning and teaching activities, with pointers to available online resources

SkillsGuides for Students

Help your students develop archival research skills with these SkillsGuides produced by Hull University Archives.

The Hull University Archives team have produced the following guides to our services and collections to help students use archives in their research:

Archives - The Basics

This guide provides an introduction to the basic concepts surrounding archives and using archival material for research purposes.

Archival Skills

This guide introduces resources that to help you develop and practice the skills necessary to successfully work with archives.

Archive Collections at Hull History Centre

This guide introduces the collections held at Hull History Centre, and allows you to browse the collections by research theme, creator and document type.

Diversity in Archives

This guide gives advice on searching for diverse voices within Hull History Centre's collections, and includes tips on finding records relating to women, LGBTQ+ people, and people from ethnic minorities.

Finding Archives

This guide provides advice, links to online portals and reading lists to help you successfully locate archival material for a research project.

Using Hull History Centre

This guide introduces the facilities available at Hull History Centre and how to use them.


SkillsGuides and Canvas

Why not embed relevant SkillsGuides into your existing course or module sites on Canvas?

SkillsGuides are delivered by the Library's LibGuides system, which seamlessly embeds the requested content into the modules area of your Canvas course. You can embed a whole guide or just a single page making this a very quick and flexible way to bring content into Canvas.

Full instructions on how to do this are shown in the video on the Library's Resources for Canvas page.