Skip to content

Incorporating archives into your learning and teaching activities: Canvas Workshop Templates

Guidance for course and module tutors exploring how to incorporate archives into learning and teaching activities, with pointers to available online resources

Canvas Workshop Templates

Find archival skills workshop templates in Canvas Commons for use in course and module development

The Hull University Archives team have produced the following archival skills workshop templates, which can be imported into your own Canvas module sites:

Bias, Subjectivity and Perspective in Archives

This workshop allows students to explore the inherent biases of archival documents, and encourages them to think about author and researcher subjectivity when interpreting sources.

Palaeography Practice

This workshop allows students to have a go at transcribing early modern archival documents. It provides guidance on transcription conventions, and worked examples allowing them to check their work.

Archives as Inspiration for Creativity

This workshop allows students to explore how archives can be used to inspire and support creative work such as; fiction and non-fiction writing; playwrighting; illustration, painting and sculpture.

Archives for student research projects

This workshop introduces students to the types of material held at Hull History Centre, and encourages them to think about how they might design a research project around such material.

Introduction to Hull History Centre

This workshop allows students to explore what facilities are available at HHC and how they can be used effectively.