Skip to main content

Skills Team Workshops

Introduction to Hull History Centre

About this workshop

Workshop description

This course explores the facilities available at Hull History Centre, outlines the archival and rare book collections held at the centre, and provides guidance on how to search the collections.

Learning outcomes

By the end of this workshop, you will be able to:

  • access the facilities and services available at Hull History Centre
  • identify the types of collections held at Hull History Centre
  • understand how Hull History Centre's online catalogue works

Who this workshop is for

Foundation, undergraduate and postgraduate students who are required or intending to use Hull History Centre's archival resources during their studies.

Facilitator

This workshop is run by an Archivist from the Hull University Archives Team.

Workshop format & availability

This workshop consists of asynchronous content delivered in Canvas and this is supported by a live Q&A session in Teams.

The Canvas content should be worked through in your own time and will take approximately 2 hours to complete. The live Teams session will last no longer than 1 hour.

The workshop runs once in trimester 1 and once in trimester 2.

Register for this workshop

To book your place on this workshop, click on one of the dates below to access the booking form.

Day

Activity

Monday 22nd March-Wednesday 24th March

Work through asynchronous content and prepare discussion points for live session

Thursday 25th March, 11.00-12.00

Live Q&A session on Teams


How to book onto this workshop

Book onto the live Q&A session for this workshop to gain access to asynchronous content in Canvas. You will receive further instructions via email closer to the course start date.

Relevant SkillsGuides

More information on this topic can be found on the following SkillsGuides:

Archive Collections at HHC

Using Hull History Centre

Finding Archives

Diversity in Archives

Archival Skills