Skip to main content

Skills Team Workshops

Archives as Inspiration for Creativity

About this workshop

Workshop description

This course explores how archives can be used to inspire creative projects such as poetry, fiction and non-fiction writing, scriptwriting, sculpture, painting and film-making.

It highlights some of the inspirational archive collections held at Hull History Centre, and prompts you to think about how you might use them in creative ways.

Learning outcomes

By the end of the course participants will be able to:

  • discuss how archives can be used to inspire creativity
  • identify how others have used archives for creative purposes
  • incorporate archives into your own creative projects

Who this workshop is for

Foundation, undergraduate and postgraduate students on creative courses who are required or intending to use archival resources during their studies. It would also be of benefit to anyone interested in how archives can be used creatively.

Facilitator

This workshop is run by an Archivist from the Hull University Archives Team.

Workshop format & availability

This workshop consists of asynchronous content delivered in Canvas and this is supported by a live discussion session in Teams.

The Canvas content should be worked through in your own time and will take approximately 2 hours to complete. The live Teams session will last no longer than 1 hour.

The workshop runs once in trimester 1 and once in trimester 2.

Register for this workshop

This workshop runs over several days. Please see the course structure table below.

Day

Activity

Monday 1st February-Wednesday 3rd February

Work through asynchronous content and prepare discussion points for live session

Thursday 4th February, 11.00-12.00

Live discussion session on Teams


How to book onto this workshop

Book onto the live discussion for this workshop to gain access to asynchronous content in Canvas. You will receive further instructions via email closer to the course start date.

Relevant SkillsGuides

More information on this topic can be found on the following SkillsGuides:

Archive Collections at HHC

Using Hull History Centre

Finding Archives

Diversity in Archives

Archival Skills