Finding quality journal articles for undergraduates
The Library subscribes to a wide range of databases which you can use to find quality journal articles. These databases spread across a number of subject disciplines and this session will look at multidisciplinary as well as subject-specific resources.
Struggling to find those quality journal articles that you need for your assignment?
Come along to this workshop to learn tips and techniques to enable you to find good quality journal articles using library resources.
The Library subscribes to a wide range of databases which you can use to find quality journal articles. These databases spread across a number of subject disciplines and this session will look at multidisciplinary as well as subject specific resources.
The workshop will provide an opportunity to develop the essential search techniques that you will need to perform your searches effectively, providing the necessary skills to find quality journal articles.
By the end of this workshop, you will be able to:
- Identify key search terms and discover smart ways to search
- Effectively look for quality journal articles using the Library Search and Subject databases
- Conduct an advanced search using appropriate techniques
- Limit and filter searches accordingly to narrow or broaden results
Who this workshop is for
Ideal for undergraduate students who need to find quality journal articles. Students from schools across all disciplines will benefit from attending this workshop.
This workshop is run by an Academic & Library Specialist from the Brynmor Jones Library Skills Team.
Work your way through the videos in the order provided then try the suggested activities beneath each one.
Video 1: Finding quality journal articles: tips and techniques
Activity: After watching the video think about your own research topic and what key terms you will use to search with. Also consider if you can apply the search techniques to your own terms such as truncation, phrase searching and alternative terms.
Video 2: Finding quality journal articles on the Library search
Activity: After watching the video use the Library Search to try searching for your own topic area using the terms you identified from the activity in video 1.
Video 3: Finding quality journal articles on subject databases
Activity: After watching the video go to your own subject database page and have a look at what databases are suitable for your own topic area. Try searching one of these using the strategies identified from the videos.
Additional support for Health Sciences
Searching within Health Sciences, particularly nursing, requires a very systematic way of searching. An additional video workshop has been created aimed at final year undergraduates or postgraduates which may be of further help.