Skip to main content

Skills Workshops: Using RefWorks to manage your references

Session booking

Title

Using RefWorks to manage your references

About this workshop

Referencing your work can be quite difficult, but if you use dedicated software such as RefWorks, this can take all the hard work of referencing away.  RefWorks is an online bibliographic management tool designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies (Refworks.com, 2009). This workshop will introduce participants to the tool and will enable them to start creating their first bibliography.

Is RefWorks the right tool for you? Please see the information and comparisons on our Bibliographic Management webpage

By the end of the workshop you will be able to:

  • Create a library of references
  • Organise you referencing into group
  • Choose the correct output style
  • Cite your references and generate a bibliography in Microsoft Word

Who is this workshop for?

This workshop is useful for students and researchers of any level who are looking to use RefWorks for their bibliographic management. Bibliographic management is a ‘must’ for any extended piece of academic writing including dissertations and theses.

This workshop is run by a Library Skills Adviser

Registration

Register for this workshop

To book your place on this workshop, click on one of the dates below for the booking form

10:15 - 11:45, Friday, February 19, 2016

10:15 - 11:45, Thursday, March 10, 2016

Suggestions for related workshops

Referencing skills

If you already understand the basic principles of referencing and want to develop your skills in the appropriate system, one of the following workshops will help:

 Check with your department/school to find out which of the University’s four referencing systems you should use

 

Bibliographic software (RefWorks/EndNote)

We recommend you use bibliographic software to keep a database of the sources you reference (books, journal articles, websites etc.) when researching your assignments. We offer training sessions in both of the bibliographic software packages currently supported by the university:

* Which is the right bibliographic tool for you? Please see the information and comparisons on our Bibliographic Management webpage