Skip to main content

Skills Team Workshops

Archives for Student Research Projects

About this workshop

Workshop description

This course explores what archival resources are available for research projects. It provides an introduction to archive collections held at Hull History Centre, and explores their potential research themes and uses.

The following broad themes are covered:

  • Business and commerce
  • Charity
  • Criminality
  • Creativity and writing
  • Diversity
  • Education
  • Landscapes, boundaries and architecture
  • Leisure and sport
  • Physical and mental health
  • Politics
  • Protest and campaigning
  • Religious communities
  • Seafaring
  • War and conflict
  • Women

Learning outcomes

By the end of this workshop, you will be able to:

  • Identify the types of archival material available for research
  • Discuss potential research topics based on the collections at Hull History Centre
  • Incorporate archival resources into the design of dissertations or research projects

Who this workshop is for

Foundation, undergraduate and postgraduate students who are required or intending to use archival resources during their studies. It would be of particular benefit to students planning a dissertation or significant research project.

Facilitator

This workshop is run by an Archivist from the Hull University Archives Team.

Workshop format & availability

This workshop consists of asynchronous content delivered in Canvas and this is supported by a live discussion session in Teams.

The Canvas content should be worked through in your own time and will take approximately 2 hours to complete. The live Teams session will last no longer than 1 hour.

The workshop runs once in trimester 1 and once in trimester 2.

Register for this workshop

To book your place on this workshop, click on one of the dates below to access the booking form.

Day

Activity

Monday 22nd February-Wednesday 24th February

Work through asynchronous content and prepare discussion points for live session

Thursday 25th February, 11.00-12.00

Live discussion session on Teams


How to book onto this workshop

Book onto the live discussion for this workshop to gain access to asynchronous content in Canvas. You will receive further instructions via email closer to the course start date.

Relevant SkillsGuides

More information on this topic can be found on the following SkillsGuides:

Archive Collections at HHC

Using Hull History Centre

Finding Archives

Diversity in Archives

Archival Skills