Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Microsoft Office Software
MS Word, PowerPoint, Excel and Access are the industry standard software in their fields. All students will need to be familiar and compentent in their use of Word and PowerPoint and Excel and Access are used for basic data analysis in many different academic disciplines.
Staff and students at the University of Hull can download MS Office 365 for free (for both PC and Mac) by visiting the ICT department's SharePoint site.
MS Office related workshops
Books and eBooks for Microsoft Office
Recommended books and eBooks from our collection
Microsoft Word 2016 Step by Step by This is learning made easy. Get more done quickly with Word 2016. Jump in wherever you need answers--brisk lessons and colourful screenshots show you exactly what to do, step by step. Get easy-to-follow guidance from a certified Microsoft Office Specialist Master Learn and practice new skills while working with sample content, or look up specific procedures Create visually appealing documents for school, business, community, or personal purposes Use built-in tools to capture and edit graphics Present data in tables, diagrams, and charts Track and compile reference materials Manage document collaboration and review Fix privacy, accessibility, and compatibility issues Supercharge your efficiency by creating custom styles, themes, and templates
Publication Date: 2015-12-23
Microsoft Excel 2016 Step by Step by This is learning made easy. Students will get productive fast with Excel 2016 and jump in wherever they need answers--brisk lessons and colourful screen shots show them exactly what to do, step by step. The quick way to learn Microsoft Excel 2016! Quickly set up workbooks, enter data, and format it for easier viewing Perform calculations and find and correct errors Filter, sort, summarise, and combine data Analyse data by using PivotTables, PivotCharts, scenarios, data tables, and Solver Visualise data with charts and graphs, including new sunbursts, waterfalls, and treemaps Build data models and use them in business intelligence analyses Create timelines, forecasts, and visualisations, including KPIs and PowerMap data maps Look up just the tasks and lessons you need
Publication Date: 2015-10-08
Excel 2019 Bible [eBook] by The complete guide to Excel 2019 Whether you are just starting out or an Excel novice, the Excel 2019 Bible is your comprehensive, go-to guide for all your Excel 2019 needs. Whether you use Excel at work or at home, you will be guided through the powerful new features and capabilities to take full advantage of what the updated version offers. Learn to incorporate templates, implement formulas, create pivot tables, analyze data, and much more. Navigate this powerful tool for business, home management, technical work, and much more with the only resource you need, Excel 2019 Bible. Create functional spreadsheets that work Master formulas, formatting, pivot tables, and more Get acquainted with Excel 2019's new features and tools Whether you need a walkthrough tutorial or an easy-to-navigate desk reference, the Excel 2019 Bible has you covered with complete coverage and clear expert guidance.
Publication Date: 2018-09-20
Statistics for People Who (Think They) Hate Statistics by Based on Neil J. Salkind's best-selling text, Statistics for People Who (Think They) Hate Statistics, this adapted Excel 2016 version presents an often intimidating and difficult subject in a way that is clear, informative, and personable. Researchers and students will appreciate the book's unhurried pace and thorough, friendly presentation. Opening with an introduction to Excel 2016, including coverage of how to use functions and formulas, this edition also shows students how to install the Excel Data Analysis Tools option to access a host of useful analytical techniques. The book walks readers through various statistical procedures, beginning with simple descriptive statistics, correlations, and graphical representations of data, and ending with inferential techniques, analysis of variance, and a new introductory chapter on working with large datasets and data mining using Excel. Available with Perusall--an eBook that makes it easier to prepare for class Perusall is an award-winning eBook platform featuring social annotation tools that allow students and instructors to collaboratively mark up and discuss their SAGE textbook. Backed by research and supported by technological innovations developed at Harvard University, this process of learning through collaborative annotation keeps your students engaged and makes teaching easier and more effective. Learn more.
Publication Date: 2016-03-04
Access 2019 Bible [eBook] by Master database creation and management Access 2019 Bible is your, comprehensive reference to the world's most popular database management tool. With clear guidance toward everything from the basics to the advanced, this go-to reference helps you take advantage of everything Access 2019 has to offer. Whether you're new to Access or getting started with Access 2019, you'll find everything you need to know to create the database solution perfectly tailored to your needs, with expert guidance every step of the way. The companion website features all examples and databases used in the book, plus trial software and a special offer from Database Creations. Start from the beginning for a complete tutorial, or dip in and grab what you need when you need it. Access enables database novices and programmers to store, organize, view, analyze, and share data, as well as build powerful, integrable, custom database solutions -- but databases can be complex, and difficult to navigate. This book helps you harness the power of the database with a solid understanding of their purpose, construction, and application. Understand database objects and design systems objects Build forms, create tables, manipulate datasheets, and add data validation Use Visual Basic automation and XML Data Access Page design Exchange data with other Office applications, including Word, Excel, and more From database fundamentals and terminology to XML and Web services, this book has everything you need to maximize Access 2019 and build the database you need.
Publication Date: 2018-09-20