Library: Official publications (UK): Parliamentary papers

Introduction

Parliamentary (or 'sessional') papers include those produced by both the House of Commons and the House of Lords. As the working documents of government, they encompass all areas of social, political, economic and foreign policy, showing how issues have been explored and legislation has been formed. They fall into three main categories: House of Commons papers, House of Lords papers, and Command papers.

Almost all recent papers are available online (together with virtually all House of Commons papers); some are also held in the Brynmor Jones Library in microform.

House of Commons

The House of Commons Parliamentary papers database covers 1688 onwards (please note that off-campus access requires a university (Shibboleth) username and password):

18th century (1688-1834) - a large collection of 18th century parliamentary publications including parliament's proceedings, reports, acts, bills and registers. Searchable full-text, but cannot easily be searched or browsed by subject.
19th century (1801-1900) - searchable full-text with detailed subject index.
20th century (1901-2003/04) - searchable full text with alphabetical subject list.
21st century (2004/05 onwards) - searchable full text with alphabetical subject list. Note: There is a considerable delay between publication of the papers and their appearance in this database.

Recent House of Commons papers relating to the work of select and other committees are available online via the Committees section of the UK Parliament website (each committee has its own list of publications).

The full texts of recent House of Commons bills are also available on the web via the Bills & Legislation section of the UK Parliament website. For further information on bills, see the "Acts, Bills and Statutory Instruments" page of this Guide.

House of Lords

The Library has an incomplete set of Lords papers and bills from 1714 to date:

1714-1805: Available online via the U.K. Parliamentary Papers website (off-campus access requires a University/Shibboleth username and password).
1806-1859: House of Lords sessional papers on microfilm - currently stored at Hull History Centre, so ask the staff in the BJL Reading Room.
1986-87 to 2006-07: House of Lords sessional papers on microfiche - ask the staff in the Reading Room or use this online form. Documents can be traced using The Stationery Office monthly catalogue, The Stationery Office annual catalogue, and the Daily List on the Web at https://www.tsoshop.co.uk/ (select "Daily List" from the Key Publications section). Lists of sessional papers back to the 2002-03 session can be accessed at https://www.publications.parliament.uk/pa/ld/ldsess.htm

Recent House of Lords papers relating to the work of select committees are available online via the House of Lords website at https://www.parliament.uk/business/lords (click on the "Select committees" link in the House of Lords Quick Links section).

Command papers

Command Papers include reports of royal commissions, statements of government policy, discussion documents and treaties. Amongst them will be found the documents known as white papers, green papers, and blue books. Further information is available here via the Parliament website, or in Factsheet P13 produced by the House of Commons Information Office (last updated 2009).

Command Papers are numbered from 1-9999 in various series identified by abbreviations:

Abbreviation	Example	Period covered
[none]	4222	1833-1869
C.	C.9550	1870-1899
Cd.	Cd.9239	1900-1918
Cmd.	Cmd.9889	1919-1956
Cmnd.	Cmnd.9641	1956-1986/7
Cm.	Cm.3081	1986/7 to date

Each abbreviation/number combination is unique. It is important to use the correct abbreviation and helpful to quote the session eg Cmnd.3282 1965-66.

Command papers online:

1833 to date: those presented to the House of Commons (which form the majority) are available via the U.K. Parliamentary Papers website (please note: off-campus access requires a university (Shibboleth) username and password).
May 2005 to date: all Command papers are freely available via the GOV.UK Publications website - use the Official document status filter to select Command papers.
Before May 2005: selected papers are available via the GOV.UK Publications website.

Command papers in print:

1833 to 1921: on microfiche with House of Commons papers. Ask the staff in the Reading Room or use this online form.
1984-85 to 2006-07: on microfiche in a separate sequence. Ask the staff in the Reading Room or use this online form.