It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Once you know what you are searching for and how you will search for it, you need to identify the channels you can use to search. Google may be very tempting but we have a number of more focused tools that you can use to search in far more sophisticated ways.
The benefit of using other tools is that you can apply the synonyms, boolean logic, truncation, wildcards and limiters that you identified as useful when building your search strategy.
There is a subject LibGuide for each of the major areas taught by the University of Hull. These can be found at by following the link below. On the Articles & Journals tab of each guide you will find links to subject-specific bibliographic databases, as well as multidisciplinary databases.
Well-established database of general and multidisciplinary peer-reviewed literature covering the sciences, social sciences and the arts and humanities. Also provides citation counts so you can see how a known work or author has been cited (or referenced) by other writers.
Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
IP on campus/Shibboleth (University ID) username and password off campus
Examples of grey literature include technical or research reports, doctoral dissertations, some conference papers, some official publications, and other types of grey literature.