Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Help LibGuides

Archives: Home

Guide to archival resources available in Hull, and to electronic resources available to help locate archival material elsewhere

Welcome

Welcome to the Archives Help Guide

These pages bring together key resources for students and researchers of any subject wishing to understand and use archival resources. It has been prepared by the Hull University Archives team, who are based at Hull History Centre.

Use the tabs to understand how to: use Hull History Centre; discover the collections held at Hull History Centre; access archive portals to search for material held elsewhere; reference archival material and comply with copyright as it relates to archival material; develop key skills which will help you work with archival material; find out about volunteer opportunities at Hull University Archives; discover how archives can be used in learning and teaching.

Skills Guides

Hull University Archives has created the following SkillsGuides to aid researchers wishing to undertake archival research:

Finding Archives provides advice, links to online portals and reading lists to help anyone wanting to successfully locate archival material for a research project. The following topics are covered: where to start; what to search; archive catalogues; and visiting repositories.

Archival Skills provides general advice, bibliographies and links to online resources enabling researchers to pursue self-directed learning of skills such as palaeography, archaic terminology and spelling, date systems, historical weights and measures, and Latin.

Archive Collections at Hull History Centre contains source guides grouped by theme, creator and document type, which are designed to help researchers explore HHC's collections.

Not sure how to organise and store your research? A guide to Research Data Management has also been prepared by colleagues from the BJL.

Feedback

If you would like to send your feedback to the Library, please complete a Library Feedback form

Contact us

If you have any questions about using archives in general, or about the archive collections available at Hull, please contact Hull University Archives staff using the following email address: archives@hull.ac.uk.

Upcoming Archive Workshops

Library Twitter Feed