Skip to main content

Help LibGuides

University Library - Support for academic staff: Supporting your teaching

Ordering Teaching Materials

Books, eBooks and AV materials

Books to support your teaching are ordered via ReadingLists@Hull

There is a central budget for purchasing the books, ebooks and AV materials listed on reading lists. This budget will be managed by the Library. The Library is now asking academics to add the learning resources your students require to the appropriate online module resource list.   This will ensure students' needs are met, reduce the administrative burden for academics and provide a more strategic approach to the acquisition of teaching resources.

The Reading List Support guide provides a step-by-step guidance to ordering books via ReadingLists@Hull.

 

Digital Texts

The Library can digitise journal articles and book chapters which are heavily in demand for teaching.  If you would like the library to  digitise articles and book chapters this can be done via an online form.  Further guidance is available via the Reading List Support guide.

Archives

For information on how to include archive materials in teaching, through workshops or the VLE, contact the archives team directly -  archives@hull.ac.uk

Hull University Archives (HUA)

HUA staff are able to run ‘Introduction to Archives’ sessions at the Hull History Centre. The sessions last 2 hours and include an introductory talk and a display of archival material.

The sessions explore what archives are, how they can be discovered and the challenges associated with using them for research. The sessions also aim to highlight available sources for specific areas of research, whilst the display of archival material can be tailored to the needs of a specific course.

Staff are also able to offer behind the scenes tours which aim to give students an understanding of how an archival repository works. Tours generally last an hour and can accommodate a maximum of 12 students. For further details contact archives@hull.ac.uk

Exam Papers

It is a University requirement (ratified by ULTAC) that a copy of every exam paper is stored in Hydra, the University repository for consistency of service and as an authoritative source of such information.  To view exam papers it is necessary to sign into Hydra using your University User ID and password.

Skills Support

The Skills Team within the University Library provides both teaching and research support for academic members of staff. 

Supporting Teaching
The Skills Team can help support academic staff with embedding skills development practices into the curriculum. Support can include:

  • Helping to develop skills development resources for taught sessions or as online resources in Canvas
  • Acting as consultants and course designers for skills-related areas of the curriculum
  • Supporting your delivery of skills-related content through providing and contextualising session plans, online content, Microsoft PowerPoint presentations and handouts
  • Providing direct teaching in the curriculum where appropriate, specifically where it helps to have an expert from our team support a lecture or other session
  • Helping you develop new skills so you can pass these on to your students
  • Training on the reading list software, Talis Aspire
  • Supporting the provision of Peer Assisted Study Sessions (PASS) in your academic modules.
To arrange a teaching consultation or research appointment, please use the webform on the Academic Skills Support page. 

For further information email skills@hull.ac.uk.

Information Literacy

The Skills team can also provide support for academics who wish to integrate information literacy skills development within their modules and programmes. 

For further information email skills@hull.ac.uk

Archives

The University Archives team can support academics who wish to integrate the use of archival materials within modules and programmes. 

For further information email archives@hull.ac.uk