Skip to main content

Help LibGuides

Academic staff - support guide: Supporting your research

Research Services Team

The University Library's Research Services Team supports researchers at all stages of their career in the use of open access publishing and the implementation of research data management. The team also manages the Hydra digital repository. We have a suite of online support guides to support you:

Open Access

Research Data Management

Publication Impact

Resource Discovery

To access these guides or contact the team, visit our homepage.

You can also follow us on twitter @HullUni_LibRST

Research Data Management

The University Library's Research Data Management webpages provide an invaluable guide to managing research data effectively.

This includes information regarding different funder requirements, training events, and access to the DMP Online tool for managing your data management plans online.

Worktribe and the REF

Use Worktribe for the management of research outputs, complementing and adding to the use of this system for earlier parts of the research lifecycle.  Information on using the system for outputs can be found on the Worktribe Sharepoint site, which also lists details of training sessions, starting Wednesday, 22nd November 2017.

To be REF compliant, researchers at the University of Hull need to submit all university research outputs published in journals or conference papers with an ISSN for deposit in Worktribe within 3 months of acceptance by a publisher. To check the terms of the policy and how to submit, go to the OA@Hull tab.

When doing so, please fill out as much of the form as you can in the format indicated. It is also important that you upload the Author's final version of the article as the deposit will not be compliant with the HEFCE REF policy unless you do so. The Author's final version of the article is the version that you or your co-author submitted to the publisher and received a reply to say the article was accepted for publication. This version will not feature the journal formatting or copyediting that is applied during the proofing process. If authors from other institutions have contributed to your article, you will not be able to find a linked author for them so it is okay to leave that field blank.

The public interface for the research repository can be viewed here.

Hydra - institutional repository

Hydra is the University of Hull's digital repository.  Hydra is used to store a vast number of materials ranging from academic research outputs, teaching and learning resources, and university regulations. 

These include:

  • University of Hull thesis and dissertations
  • Learning materials
  • Datasets
  • Conference papers, abstracts and journal articles
  • University of Hull committee minutes, regulations and reports

To view some materials it is necessary to sign into Hydra using your University User ID and password.

Hydra can also store your own outputs. Talk to us about what would be required by emailing repository@hull.ac.uk

Staff induction and development

The University Library supports staff induction and can arrange meetings with staff to introduce them to library services and resources.  For further details please contact your Faculty team.


University library staff also contribute to staff development delivery including training session regarding Research Data Management (RDM) and Open Access (OA) publishing.

Accessing and using archives in your research

Hull History Centre is located in the centre of town. The centre incorporates the Hull University Archives, which has responsibility for the management of the University’s own institutional records, as well as a huge variety of deposited collections.

Strengths lie in left-wing MPs, political protest movements, poets and poetry publishing, playwrights and theatre, landed families and estate management, and maritime charities. In addition, the History Centre also houses the administrative records of Hull City Council and its predecessors, local court records, hospital and orphanage records, and the records of a vast number of local associations and societies.

Archival collections at Hull History Centre would support research within disciplines such as law, politics, theatre and drama, English literature and language, architecture and buildings archaeology, geography and population studies. 

To find out more about the collections, search the Hull History Centre online catalogue and visit the Archives LibGuide.

For further information on getting the most from a visit to the Centre please see the History Centre website‚Äč. If you have any questions you can contact the University Archives team at archives@hull.ac.uk

Open Access Publishing

Open Access (OA) publishing is an increasingly important form of research dissemination and is essential for submitting outputs to the next Research Excellence Framework (REF) exercise.  The University Library has the expertise to advise on the different routes to OA and HEFCE and RCUK policies regarding OA publishing.  The OA Libguide provides online support:

Open Access Libguide

In addition, there is a pilot scheme aimed at supporting the uptake of OA publishing by university researchers:

The University of Hull Open Access Publishing Pilot

 

Ordering materials for research

The University Library invests in wide range of resources which support research as well as teaching and learning.  These include subject-specific and multidisciplinary databases, subscriptions to print and electronic journals and individual subject archives.

Academic staff can order materials for research using the research electronic book ordering form (ebrf) which is available on sharepoint, under Services - Library Services - Ordering Materials.

Archives staff can provide advice on finding research resources at Hull History Centre and other archives in the UK - see the Hull History Centre website.

Inter-Library Loans

The Inter-Library Loans service enables you to obtain items that we do not have in our own stock of books, periodicals and electronic resources; most requests are made through the British Library.

Annual quota (1 August - 31 July) for requests funded centrally (subject to budget availability):
Undergraduate and Taught postgraduate students – 3 requests
Research postgraduate students – 12 requests
Academic staff – 12 requests

Additional requests are charged based on national tariffs. However, consideration will be given if more requests are required. 

The charges are:
Secure electronic delivery (SED) documents -  £9.00
Photocopies  - £11.00
Loans   -   £15.50

From 2nd July 2018, any inter-library loan articles delivered as Secure Electronic Documents (SED) need to be opened using Adobe Acrobat Reader.  This is available on the public PCs in the Brynmor Jones Library. Alternatively you can download this software to your own PC. For more information please visit our libguide.

Academic Skills Support

The Skills Team within the University Library provides both teaching and research support for academic members of staff. 

Supporting Research
The Skills Team can support research and academic staff with their own skills development. Our areas of expertise include:

  • Expert literature searching and systematic review
  • Bibliographic management (EndNote & RefWorks)
  • Specialist analysis software (NVivo to expert level & introductory use of IMB SPSS)
  • Microsoft Office for research purposes
  • Survey Design and JISC OnlineSurveys
To arrange a teaching consultation or research appointment, please use the webform on the Academic Skills Support page. 
 
For further information email skills@hull.ac.uk