Skip to main content

Help LibGuides

Summon: Summon

Summon

Summon

 

 

What is Summon?

 
 

Summon enables you to search across the majority of the library’s databases and electronic resources, covering journal articles, electronic books, web resources, newspaper articles and more, with links to the full text where available.

 
 

Advanced Search                      

 

Using Summon

About Summon

Summon™ enables you to search across the majority of the library’s electronic resources, including journal articles, electronic books, web resources, newspaper articles, and more, with links through to the full texts where available.  It allows you to discover a broad range of academic materials through a single, unified search.

Summon™ offers the following features in an attempt to make it easier to find the resources you need:

Relevant results

Search results are presented as a relevancy-ranked list: the most relevant results should appear at the top of the list.

Results refinement

Easily navigate and narrow your search results using the options in the side panel.

Clear, immediate results

Valuable information is conveniently displayed within the results list, allowing for quick appraisal. This data includes abstracts, item location, online full text availability, and more.

"Did you mean?" suggestions and database recommendation

Summon™ provides alternative guidance for misspellings or low yield queries, plus recommendations of specific databases and seearch services that may be of relevance in taking your searching further.

Bibliographic information export and citation formatting

Results include easily exportable citations to bibliographic management software applications such as RefWorks and EndNote.  You can quickly cut and paste citations in your preferred style.

Feedback

We welcome feedback on how you find using Summon, via the Feedback link in Summon (see top right of the search results screen), our Wallwisher wall, or via libhelp@hull.ac.uk.  The level and nature of the feedback we receive will influence the development of the system.

A quick guide to databases

Finding articles:

Each of these coloured dots represents a different article. We might know of certain useful journals for our subject, but there could be good articles in other journals. Most articles are indexed in bibliographic databases but not all are listed in every database so you may have to search more than one.

Subject databases:

These databases collect articles from within a particular discipline, and are ideal for focused research. There may be more than one database for your field of study, and while their content will overlap there will likely be some articles in one database but not in another. No database will have access to every article on a subject so you may also have to look elsewhere.

Multidisciplinary databases:

These databases index articles across a range of subjects. They are particularly useful for finding articles published in interdisciplinary journals, and works at the fringe of your specialism. Their coverage is broad and unlikely to be thorough, but may find useful articles missed by the more focused subject databases.