Skip to main content

Subject LibGuides

Drama: Subject Resources

Drama and Theatre Websites

Shakespeare

Screen Plays

Screen Plays is a three-year research project, based in the School of Media, Arts and Design at the University of Westminster.  The project is funded by the Arts and Humanities Research Council.  The aim is to document all British television productions of plays that were originally written for the theatre since 1930.  The resulting database will cover an estimated 3,000 productions.   

For further information go to: http://screenplaystv.wordpress.com/

Archival Collections at Hull History Centre

Hull History Centre houses the archival collections held by Hull City Archives, Hull University Archives, and Hull Local Studies. Amongst the collections are many resources relating to theatres, screenplays, playwrights and creative writers. Highlights include: a collection of almost 6000 theatre playbills covering the period 1760s-1970s; programmes relating to productions staged at many of Hull's local theatres during the 19th and 20th centuries; the records of the Out of Joint Theatre Company; the records of John Godber; and the records of Alan Plater. 

To find out more visit the Centre's website for further collections information, and to plan your visit.

You might also find the following subject guide useful in helping you to identify material:

Past Exam Papers

Past exam papers are accessible through the Hydra digital repository.  To get access you need to log into the repository.  Two options are available:

  • Go to http://hydra.hull.ac.uk, click on Sign in in the top bar and enter your campus username and login. There is a link to Examination papers under 'Collections'. 

Finding People

Consulting detective with pipe and magnifying glass http://www.openclipart.org/detail/66889/sleeping-man-with-newspapers-by-j4p4n

Looking for biographical data?  Rather than trusting to Google or Wikipedia, try the resources below for accurate, bias free information.

 Is the person you are looking for alive or dead?   Try Who's Who and Film Index International for current lives. Oxford Dictionary of National Biography, American National Biography and Who Was Who for past lives.

Browse Resources by Subject:


Click to find useful resources.

Arts Funding

Library Resources

Here are some useful theatre, performance and dance-related reference resources.

Please note - when accessing them off-campus you may be asked for your username and password.