Skip to main content

Subject LibGuides

Criminology: Articles & Journals

Summon

Summon

 

 

What is Summon?

 
 

Summon enables you to search across the majority of the library’s databases and electronic resources, covering journal articles, electronic books, web resources, newspaper articles and more, with links to the full text where available.

 

Advanced Search                      

 

Subject databases

The library subscribes to a number of subject-specific databases. The databases on this page have been selected as being of particular value to Criminology students.

Finding Journal Articles - Law databases

Lexis Library and Westlaw provide access to case law and legislation as well as full-text journals and reports. 

Not sure where to start? Try JSTOR

JSTOR provides access to over 1,000 academic journals, covering a broad range of subject disciplines.

 
Search results from JSTOR will open in a new window.

JSTOR Search Tutorial (video)

Searching for articles via journal publishers

The websites below enable you to search for both journal articles and journal titles via publishers' search engines.

Search tip: these sites provide access to all the journals the company publishes.  The University of Hull may not have subscriptions to all the content available.  If available, try limiting your search to "subscribed titles" and look out for the icons which indicate access; these differ on each site.

Journal Search

You can also search for whole journals. This is useful if you want to browse articles in a particular subject. The Library subscribes to thousands of eJournals (accessible online) and there are also lots of paper editions in the Library.

Useful Journal Databases

Use databases to find quality journal articles for your assignments. You will find many more journal databases via the Library Catalogue, but these have been selected as being of particular value for your studies.

Help guides

This online tutorial will guide you through the basics of working with journal articles. (note. tutorial not available in Google Chrome)

We also have guides to help you plan your searches and reference what you find: