Skip to main content

Subject LibGuides

Creative Writing: Archives

Hull History Centre

Hull History Centre is home to Hull City Archives, Hull Local Studies Library and Hull University Archives. The History Centre provides free access to collections, and is open to students, staff and the public.

Visit the website to find out more about the collections we hold, and to plan your visit.

You can contact the Centre in the following ways:

By email:hullhistorycentre@hcandl.co.uk

By phone: 01482 317500

In person or by post: Hull History Centre, Worship Street, Hull, HU2 8BG

National Search Engines

The National Archives Discovery - Allows the user to search more than 32 million descriptions of records held by The National Archives and more than 2,500 archive offices across the UK. Over 9 million records are available for download.  TNA Discovery incorporates the old data sets and user interfaces for Access to Archives and the National Register of Archives.

It also incorporates browse and search facilities for record offices across the UK (previously accessed as ARCHON).  To search for an archive office, scroll down the Discovery home page to the "Find an archive" box.

Archives Hub - Provides details of archival collections held in UK Universities and Colleges

History Centre Catalogue

English Collections at Hull History Centre

Hull University Archives is a national repository for literary collections. We house the records of numerous authors, poets and literary magazines.

The following guides provide extensive lists of collections held at Hull History Centre on various literary themes: