Skip to main content

Subject LibGuides

Politics and International Studies: Archives at Hull History Centre

Hull History Centre

Hull History Centre is the home for Hull City Archives, Hull Local Studies Library and Hull University Archives. It is open to staff, students and the public alike. The Centre holds vast quantities of material relating to a number of subjects and research areas. Explore the website to learn more about the History Centre, our top tips on planning your visit and details of our collections.

History Centre Catalogue

National Search Engines

The National Archives Discovery - Allows the user to search more than 32 million descriptions of records held by The National Archives and more than 2,500 archive offices across the UK. Over 9 million records are available for download.  TNA Discovery incorporates the old data sets and user interfaces for Access to Archives and the National Register of Archives.

It also incorporates browse and search facilities for record offices across the UK (previously accessed as ARCHON).  To search for an archive office, scroll down the Discovery home page to the "Find an archive" box.

Archives Hub - Provides details of archival collections held in UK Universities and Colleges

Politics Source Guides

The University of Hull archives is a national repository for political papers. We house the papers of various MPs, pressure groups and political authors. We have created a source guide for one module (listed below), however it is well worth contacting us if studying other modules and we may be able to point you in the right direction

Important Political Collections at Hull History Centre