Library: Statistics: Other countries and international statistics

Some starting points

Statistics for many countries are available via the links below, which include some of the more important international organisations.

United Nations - UNdata
Provides a single entry point for searching for, and downloading, a variety of UN statistical resources. It includes statistical profiles of member countries with links to their national statistical offices. Click on "More - About UNdata" to find out more about what is included.
World Health Organisation - Global Health Observatory
Provides critical data and analyses for key health themes, as well as direct access to the full GHO data repository.
International Monetary Fund - IMF Data and Statistics
Time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates, and other economic and financial indicators.
UNESCO - UNESCO Institute for Statistics
"The official and trusted source of internationally-comparable data on education, science, culture and communication."
World Bank - World Bank open data
Selected statistics by country or indicator, as well as access to the full Data Catalog of over 2,000 indicators.
CIA world factbook
Provides a summary of the geography, demographics, government, economy, communications, and military system of over 250 countries and other areas of the world.

European Union - Eurostat

This is the main source of statistics relating to the EU and its members. "First visit" in the Help dropdown menu on the home page gives an introduction to the contents of the website.

Some places to start (all accessible from the homepage) might be:

Statistics explained: your guide to European statistics (available via the Publications dropdown menu) - an encyclopedia of European statistics presented in "an easily understandable way"
Statistics by theme: Statistics A-Z - a complete list of topics for which statistics are available
Publications - access to a wide range of Eurostat publications such as Eurostat yearbook and Eurostat regional yearbook

Details of the statistical offices of individual member countries are available by clicking on Links at the very top of the homepage.

Click here to access Eurostat

OECD iLibrary

OECD iLibrary contains all the publications and datasets released since 1998 by:

Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD)

International Energy Agency (IEA)

Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA)

OECD Development Centre

PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment)

International Transport Forum (ITF)

University of Hull staff and students can access OECD iLibrary via the link below.

OECD iLibrary

Euromonitor Passport

Euromonitor Passport gives access to the following:

1) Industry data - multi-country relational database of market and category sizes, market shares, distribution patterns, sales forecasts and other measurements relevant to each sector.

2) Country reports - in-depth analysis reports on both developed and emerging national markets. Each report provides qualitative commentary on sales trends, new product and marketing developments, consumer preferences, national company and brand competition and market strategies, and the views and assumptions underlying national sales forecasts.

3) Global reports assessing the key issues affecting international market performance, with a focus on important developments by product sector and big picture competition strategy.

4) Company profiles - analytical profiles of the top international players in the industry, compiled in a standardised format for cross analysis.

5) Comment - articles and presentations on key themes and discussion topics around the dynamics of the category.

University of Hull staff and students can access Passport via the link below.

Euromonitor Passport