Skip to main content

Help LibGuides

Archives: Learning and Teaching Services

Guide to archival resources available in Hull, and to electronic resources available to help locate archival material elsewhere

Support for Learning and Teaching

Part of the role of Hull University Archives (HUA) is to offer practical support for learning and teaching.

Sessions can be requested by any module or course tutor, and can be incorporated into teaching slots within taught modules at undergraduate and postgraduate level.

Sessions are delivered at Hull History Centre (HHC), which allows students an opportunity to familiarize themselves with the building and its facilities. However, arrangements can be made for sessions to be delivered on campus if timetable requirements necessitate this.

For more details of the sessions on offer please see our downloadable PDF brochure below.

Work with Hull University Archives

The Hull University Archives team are always looking for ways to engage with teaching and academic staff.

In addition to our outlined learning and teaching offer, we are happy to consider proposals made by course developers for small joint projects.

We are also available to advise on material available at Hull History which can be digitised for inclusion in courses.

Archival material has successfully been used to support various courses including History, Politics, Geography, English and Drama.

Uses of archives in teaching have included:

  • inspiration for creative writing assignments
  • research material for historical geography projects
  • examples to encourage critical thinking about perspective and subjectivity
  • source material for the scripting of dramatic projects.

For more information, and to discuss any ideas you might have, please contact us at archives@hull.ac.uk.

Archival Skills at Hull History Centre

One of the core skills within archival research is reading old handwriting.

Receipt for payment of expenses, September 1668

The Hull University Archives team can deliver practical workshop sessions on the basics of palaeography. Tutors may request a session to be fit into existing modules.

This workshop is also delivered in the first semester of each year and can be booked via the BJL Skills Team webpages. For more information please download the PDF brochure below.

The Hull University Archives team has also produced a guide and bibliography for working with archives. It includes reading lists for historical date systems, archaic language and spelling, Latin, weights and measures, as well as palaeography. For more information please download the PDF brochure below.