Skip to main content

Help LibGuides

Archives: Student Volunteering Opportunities

Guide to archival resources available in Hull, and to electronic resources available to help locate archival material elsewhere

Volunteering in Archives

The Hull University Archives Team can help students to develop their skills and gain new experiences during their time at Hull University. Getting involved allows students to develop employability skills, an understanding of the heritage sector in practice, a chance to work with unique archival resources, and a wider student experience.

Student volunteering opportunities are periodically advertised and take place onsite at the Hull History Centre which is located in the centre of Hull, 10 minutes walk from Paragon Interchange. Opportunities can involve one or more of the following elements: listing archival collections; selection and digitization of material for outreach purposes; research using original sources.

How to Volunteer

Volunteering opportunities are usually advertised via the BJL, the Careers Service or specific departments, so please keep an eye out for future opportunities. We offer volunteer roles specifically for Hull students, and these may include improving existing catalogues; listing small collections; or repackaging material. We generally advertise for volunteers at the beginning of each semester, and placements last for ten weeks.

If you have any questions about volunteering you can contact us at archives@hull.ac.uk, but please be aware that we can’t usually accommodate volunteers outside of advertised opportunities.

If you're thinking of a career in archives we're happy to offer advice on where to start and how to find out more about the profession. Please email us at archives@hull.ac.uk and tell us a bit about why you're interested in archives, and we'll get back to you.