Skip to main content

Help LibGuides

Archives: Home

Guide to archival resources available in Hull, and to electronic resources available to help locate archival material elsewhere

Welcome

Welcome to the Archives Libguide

These pages bring together key resources for students of any subject wishing to understand and use archival resources.

It has been prepared by the Hull University Archives team which is part of the University Library, and is based at Hull History Centre. Archives staff are happy to help with any questions you might have about using archives generally, or using archives at Hull History Centre specifically. Contact us by emailing archives@hull.ac.uk and someone will get back to you.

Use the tabs to help you find archival material to support your research and to learn more about what the Hull University Archives team can offer at Hull History Centre.

Skills Guides

If you would like to understanding what archival research entails in more detail, please see our Working With Archives skills guide.

It contains helpful advice and bibliographies allowing self-directed learning of skills such as palaeography, archaic terminology, date systems, historical weights and measures, and Latin.

Quick Links

Feedback

If you would like to send your feedback to the Library, please complete a Library Feedback form

Library Twitter Feed

Upcoming Archive Workshops

Summon

 

 

 

 

SummonWhat is Summon?

 
 


Summon enables you to search across the majority of the library’s databases and electronic resources, covering journal articles, electronic books, web resources, newspaper articles and more, with links to the full text where available.

 
 

Advanced Search