Skip to main content

Help LibGuides

Archives: Hull History Centre

Guide to archival resources available in Hull, and to electronic resources available to help locate archival material elsewhere

Hull History Centre

Hull His Cen Panorama

Readers' Tickets

The Hull History Centre is free to use but you will need to provide ID in order to register as a user. On your first visit please bring with you something displaying your name, address and signature. We usually recommend a driving license, but a household bill and bank card will also be accepted. 

What is Hull History Centre

Hull History Centre is a research facility in the heart of Hull city centre.

It is home to 1000s of archival collections held by Hull University Archives, Hull City Archives and Hull Local Studies Library.

Access to these collections is available for free to any researcher onsite at the centre.

For more information, please see the History Centre's website.

Where is Hull History Centre

Located on Worship Street, behind the New Theatre and opposite the old Central Fire Station, the Centre is just a 10 minute walk from Paragon Interchange.

The Interchange is just a short bus ride from campus, and there are a number of buses that can be used (5, 103, 105, or 115).

Further directions can be found on the History Centre's website.

Opening Times

The Hull History Centre's normal opening hours are:

Sunday - closed to the public
Monday - closed to the public
Tuesday - 9.30am - 5.30pm
Wednesday - 9.30am - 5.30pm
Thursday -  9.30am - 5.30pm
Friday -  9.30am - 5.30pm

Saturdays

We are open on the 1st and 3rd Saturday of every month between 9.00-4.30pm.

The Archives Reading Room

The Archives Reading Room at Hull History Centre

Access to the 1000s of archival collections held at Hull History Centre is provided in the Archives Reading Room.

Researchers can access indexes, catalogues and staff advice to enable them to locate relevant archival resources, and request them from storage.

Open access resources include 19th Century trade directories, council minute books, historic maps and recent volumes of the electoral register.

The Local Studies Library

The Local Studies Library at Hull History Centre

The Hull Local Studies Library is home to thousands of books on local history.

Facilities include open access to OS maps, microfilmed copies of local newspapers, use of Hull Library Services' IT provisions, and much more.

Staff are always on hand to assist researchers at the Enquiry Desk.

The library features working spaces with access to power sockets and free Wi-Fi provided by Hull Library Services. 

Contact Hull History Centre

There are a number of ways to contact the History Centre.

For general enquiries, please email hullhistorycentre@hcandl.co.uk.

You can also speak to a member of staff by phoning 01482 317500. Staff are able to advise on collections held by the centre, and how to access them.

Hull History Centre Twitter Feed