Skip to main content

Subject LibGuides

History of Art: Archives

History Centre Catalogue

National Search Engines

The National Archives Discovery - Allows the user to search more than 32 million descriptions of records held by The National Archives and more than 2,500 archive offices across the UK. Over 9 million records are available for download.  TNA Discovery incorporates the old data sets and user interfaces for Access to Archives and the National Register of Archives.

It also incorporates browse and search facilities for record offices across the UK (previously accessed as ARCHON).  To search for an archive office, scroll down the Discovery home page to the "Find an archive" box.

Archives Hub - Provides details of archival collections held in UK Universities and Colleges

Contact Us

Simon Wilson
University Archivist
s.wilson@hull.ac.uk
01482 317502

General Enquiries
hullhistorycentre@hullcc.gov.uk
01482 317500
Hull History Centre
Worship Street
Hull
HU2 8BG

Hull History Centre

Hull History Centre is the home for Hull City Archives, Hull Local Studies Library and Hull University Archives. It is open to staff, students and the public alike. The Centre holds vast quantities of material relating to a number of subjects and research areas. Explore the website to learn more about the History Centre, our top tips on planning your visit and details of our collections.

Source guides for History Dissertation (20411)

The History Centre holds archives relating to many of the history third year special subjects. These may be used as primary source material for a dissertation linked to those special subjects. If your module is not listed it is because Hull History Centre does not hold significant primary source material relevant to that subject. There is also a general guide on locating and using archives held in the UK. For students of any special subject, if you would like some guidance on locating and using archives elsewhere, you are very welcome to contact us and we may be able to point you in the right direction.

Guide to finding archival material (All students undertaking primary research are strongly advised to first read this guide)

Department of History
Special Subjects 2015/16,
sources for dissertations:
20195 First World War
20249 Hazards and History
20407 Pre-Raphaelites and Pre-Raphaelitism
20433 Britain and the Second World War
20438 Gandhi to Mandela: Rise and Fall of Apartheid in South Africa
20460  Gender, Society, Culture in Early Modern England
20481  Wars, Revolutions and Crises, The Middle East 1945-1973
20485 Seafarers: Life Afloat and Ashore, c1800-1914

Previous years 
20120 Ethnic Politics, War and Revolution: the Case of Yugoslavia
20134 The Global History of Health and War
20434 Empire, Monarchy and Revolution
20453 The Flag that sets us free: Britain, Empire and Anti-Slavery

History Postgraduate Source Guides

Whilst studying for a postgraduate degree, emphasis is placed on the use of archival material and primary sources. The staff here at the Centre are willing to provide assistance in searching for appropriate records and providing access to material held within our collections.

If you have any specific questions, please feel free to contact either Judy Burg or Simon Wilson, who should be able to help you further