Skip to main content

Subject LibGuides

English: Archives

Hull History Centre

Hull History Centre is the home for Hull City Archives, Hull Local Studies Library and Hull University Archives. It is open to staff, students and the public alike. The Centre holds vast quantities of material relating to a number of subjects and research areas. Explore the website to learn more about the History Centre, our top tips on planning your visit and details of our collections.

History Centre Catalogue

How to find Archives

Archives are often comprised of unique documents, meaning that locating them can sometimes be tricky. Unlike secondary sources, which may be in various libraries throughout the country, archival records are held in one specific repository. Therefore you may need to travel in order to view the documents or be prepared to pay for copies. Below are a number of search engines that can help you locate archival material relevant to your subject

 

Click here for a guide to Finding archive material, including information about the national search-engines listed below.

Contact Us

Simon Wilson
University Archivist
s.wilson@hull.ac.uk
01482 317502

General Enquiries
hullhistorycentre@hullcc.gov.uk
01482 317500
Hull History Centre
Worship Street
Hull
HU2 8BG

English Source Guides

The History Centre holds several collections of national importance relating to English literature. This includes the poetry workbooks of Philip Larkin and screen plays written by modern authors such as Stephen Gallagher. Below are links to the modules we have created source guides for. If your module isn't covered below, please contact us as we may be able to offer some help in finding primary sources

Important English Collections at Hull History Centre

  • Philip Larkin - Papers include poetry workbooks, correspondence and draft novels
  • Jean Hartley - Correspondence with other literary figures, research files and material relating to Larkin
  • John Ruskin - Mainly correspondence between various literary figures
  • Alan Plater - Contains numerous scripts, drafts, plot schedules, letters and press cuttings
  • The papers of Anglo-Caribbean poet Archie Markham (1939-20008) has now been catalogued - see our Source Guide for more information

Literary Archives and Manuscripts at Hull History Centre

Modern poetry and magazines at Hull History Centre

National Search Engines

The National Archives Discovery - Allows the user to search more than 32 million descriptions of records held by The National Archives and more than 2,500 archive offices across the UK. Over 9 million records are available for download.  TNA Discovery incorporates the old data sets and user interfaces for Access to Archives and the National Register of Archives.

It also incorporates browse and search facilities for record offices across the UK (previously accessed as ARCHON).  To search for an archive office, scroll down the Discovery home page to the "Find an archive" box.

Archives Hub - Provides details of archival collections held in UK Universities and Colleges